VOLTA announces Key Partnership with the National Academy

NEW YORK, NOVEMBER 27,2018: VOLTA is pleased to announce apartnership with The NationalAcademy of Design (NAD). This collaborationactualizes as intimate public gatherings at the New York fair, and it advocatesfor the fair’s social reach. NationalAcademicians, the Academy’s artist and architect honorarymembers, provide further insight for fair visitors on the themes of influenceby engaging in dialogue, exhibiting video works, and supporting the VOLTA Cares initiative.Programming and participating Academicians will be announced in January.N

Founded in 1825 by painterThomas Cole, painter and inventor Samuel B. Morse, and noted Hudson schoolarchitect Asher B. Durand, the Academy’s simple yet powerful mission is “topromote American art and architecture through exhibition and instruction.”Notes Mary Fisher,NAD’s Interim Executive Director, “TheNational Academy is proud to partner with VOLTA to promote artists and supportthe next generation of creative minds.”

DEEDS WORLD - VOLTA New York 2018, image courtesy David Willems Photography-min
VOLTA New York 2018, imagecourtesy David Willems Photography

Recent inductees to theAcademician Class of 2018 include Hank Willis Thomas, who was featuredin VOLTA’s 2016 Salon Series at the New York fair. The newest Academicians, thefifth largest class in NAD’s history, join more than 420 living members, withover 2,300 elected since the Academy’s founding. VOLTA has collaborated withsuch notable Academicians in the past, including Mickalene Thomas at the 2018fair, and the inclusion of key pieces from the Academy’s collection will add alayer of depth and context regarding American art history for fair visitors.

“Education has always been agoal of ours, from the entire context of the New York platform — immersive soloprojects by emerging or underrepresented international artists — to thenavigation of our fairs — focused and approachable for both veteran and nascentcollectors,” adds Amanda Coulson,VOLTA Artistic Director. “Assuch, I look forward to this first collaboration with the National Academy .Its rich cultural scholarship and lineage of Academician mentors promotescreativity, accessibility, and inclusion — qualities we strive for in everyVOLTA edition.”

ABOUT:
Founded in 1825 by a group of artists and architects, The National Academy of Design (NAD) isan arts organization founded on three key components: an honor society ofAmerica’s top artists and architects; a presenter of arts; and an agent of artseducation. Over the decades, the Academy has enriched and educated countlessgenerations of artists and architects, while celebrating the diversity ofAmerican art, architecture, and culture.

VOLTA New York isa contemporary art fair comprised of solo projects by leading and emerginginternational artists. The American incarnation of the original Basel VOLTAshow, VOLTA New York has since its 2008 debut operated as a beacon for creativediscovery and social engagement during Armory Arts Week. VOLTA New York returnsto PIER 90, adjacent to The Armory Show, from March 6 – 10, 2019.

VOLTA Cares was initiated in 2018 as a multitiered socialprogramming outreach by the New York fair to more meaningfully connect with alllevels of cultural purveyors, from public school students to patron collectors.

DEEDS WORLD VOLTA csm_Application2019

VOLTA New York

DATES:
Wednesday, March 6 –
Sunday, March 10, 2019

Mutually acknowledged VIP access
with The Armory Show

TIMES:
Wednesday, March 6, 4 – 9 PM
Thursday, March 7, 12 – 8 PM
Friday, March 8, 12 – 8 PM
Saturday, March 9, 12 – 8 PM
Sunday, March 10, 12 – 5 PM

How to get there:

LOCATION:
Pier 90, 12th Ave at West 50th Street
New York, NY 10019

DIRECT SHUTTLE:
Direct shuttle from The Armory Show, Pier 94
to VOLTA at Pier 90

PUBLIC TRANSIT:
C and E train to 50 Street / 8 Avenue
1, A, B, C, D to 59 Street / Columbus Circle

TAKING THE FERRY FROMNJ:
Frequent ferry service to Midtown at Pier 79,
a 13 min walk to Pier 90 on the Hudson River Greenway

DEEDS WORLD Plan Volta New York

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

VOLTA gibt Key Partnership mit National Academy bekannt

NEW YORK, 27. NOVEMBER 2018: VOLTA freut sich, eine Partnerschaft mit der National Academy of Design (NAD) bekannt zu geben. Diese Zusammenarbeit verwirklicht sich als intime öffentliche Versammlung auf der New Yorker Messe und setzt sich für die soziale Reichweite der Messe ein. National Academicians, die Ehrenmitglieder der Akademie, geben den Messebesuchern durch Dialog, Ausstellung von Videoarbeiten und Unterstützung der VOLTA Cares-Initiative weitere Einblicke in die Thematik des Einflusses. Die Programmplanung und die teilnehmenden Akademiker werden im Januar bekannt gegeben.

Die Akademie wurde 1825 vom Maler Thomas Cole, dem Maler und Erfinder Samuel B. Morse und dem Architekten der Hudson-Schule Asher B. Durand gegründet und hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, „amerikanische Kunst und Architektur durch Ausstellungen und Unterricht zu fördern“. Mary Fisher, Interim Executive Director von NAD, erklärt: „Die National Academy ist stolz darauf, mit VOLTA zusammenzuarbeiten, um Künstler zu fördern und die nächste Generation kreativer Köpfe zu unterstützen“.

DEEDS WORLD - VOLTA New York 2018, image courtesy David Willems Photography-min
VOLTA New York 2018, Bild mit freundlicher Genehmigung von David Willems Photography

Zu den jüngsten Mitgliedern der Academician Class of 2018 gehört Hank Willis Thomas, der in der Salon Series 2016 von VOLTA auf der New Yorker Messe vorgestellt wurde. Die neuesten Akademiker, die fünftgrößte Klasse in der Geschichte von NAD, schließen sich mehr als 420 lebenden Mitgliedern an, von denen seit der Gründung der Akademie über 2.300 gewählt wurden. VOLTA hat in der Vergangenheit mit solchen namhaften Akademikern zusammengearbeitet, darunter Mickalene Thomas auf der Messe 2018, und die Aufnahme von Schlüsselstücken aus der Sammlung der Akademie wird den Messebesuchern eine Ebene der Tiefe und des Kontextes der amerikanischen Kunstgeschichte eröffnen.

„Bildung war schon immer ein Ziel von uns, vom gesamten Kontext der New Yorker Plattform – immersive Soloprojekte von aufstrebenden oder unterrepräsentierten internationalen Künstlern – bis hin zur Navigation auf unseren Messen – fokussiert und zugänglich für erfahrene und angehende Sammler“, ergänzt Amanda Coulson, VOLTA Artistic Director. „Als solches freue ich mich auf diese erste Zusammenarbeit mit der National Academy . Die reiche Kulturwissenschaft und die Herkunft der akademischen Mentoren fördert Kreativität, Zugänglichkeit und Integration – Qualitäten, die wir in jeder VOLTA-Ausgabe anstreben.“

ÜBER:
Die 1825 von einer Gruppe von Künstlern und Architekten gegründete National Academy of Design (NAD) ist eine Kunstorganisation, die auf drei Schlüsselkomponenten basiert: einer Ehrengesellschaft der besten amerikanischen Künstler und Architekten, einem Moderator der Künste und einem Vertreter der Kunstausbildung. Im Laufe der Jahrzehnte hat die Akademie unzählige Generationen von Künstlern und Architekten bereichert und ausgebildet und gleichzeitig die Vielfalt der amerikanischen Kunst, Architektur und Kultur gefeiert.

VOLTA New York ist eine Messe für zeitgenössische Kunst, die aus Einzelprojekten führender und aufstrebender internationaler Künstler besteht. Als amerikanische Inkarnation der ursprünglichen Basler VOLTA-Show fungiert VOLTA New York seit seinem Debüt 2008 als Leuchtturm für kreative Entdeckungen und soziales Engagement während der Armory Arts Week. VOLTA New York kehrt vom 6. bis 10. März 2019 zu PIER 90, angrenzend an die The Armory Show, zurück.

VOLTA Cares wurde 2018 als mehrstufiger Social Programming-Einsatz der New Yorker Messe ins Leben gerufen, um eine sinnvollere Verbindung zu allen Ebenen der Kulturvermittler herzustellen, von öffentlichen Schülern bis hin zu  Sammlern.

DEEDS WORLD VOLTA csm_Application2019

VOLTA New York

DATES:
Wednesday, March 6 –
Sunday, March 10, 2019

Mutually acknowledged VIP access
with The Armory Show

TIMES:
Wednesday, March 6, 4 – 9 PM
Thursday, March 7, 12 – 8 PM
Friday, March 8, 12 – 8 PM
Saturday, March 9, 12 – 8 PM
Sunday, March 10, 12 – 5 PM

How to get there:

LOCATION:
Pier 90, 12th Ave at West 50th Street
New York, NY 10019

DIRECT SHUTTLE:
Direct shuttle from The Armory Show, Pier 94
to VOLTA at Pier 90

PUBLIC TRANSIT:
C and E train to 50 Street / 8 Avenue
1, A, B, C, D to 59 Street / Columbus Circle

TAKING THE FERRY FROMNJ:
Frequent ferry service to Midtown at Pier 79,
a 13 min walk to Pier 90 on the Hudson River Greenway

DEEDS WORLD Plan Volta New York

This post is also available in: English

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.