THE INTERVIEW IN|DEEDS: Victoria Rosenman

PROLOGUE | PERSONAL

Victoria, we are doing this interview in writing, but imagine that we are sitting face to face. Where do we talk together – in your home or in your studio? Where do we meet you? I prefer to work in different places. Closed studio spaces tend to constrict my thought process and way of working, so I prefer a constantly changing place where I meet new people or people interested in my art. It would have to be an atmosphere in which many contrasting energies surround me, so I feel less observed and more secure. Somewhere among people, or outside by the water, or surrounded by ( architectural ) art would be very productive for conversation. Maybe we’ll sit in your favourite place? In St. Petersburg on the Neva River, at dusk. Where are you from, where were you born and when? I was born in 1986 in Pskov, Russia, and then my parents moved to Saint-Petersburg immediately after I was born, where I then grew up until I was twelve. Where do you live and work now? I live and work mainly in Berlin. There are always small and large stopovers and sojourns, but they make Berlin even more endearing for me.

DEEDS WORLD - Victoria Rosenman - photo by Dusia Sobol 2021 -1

Victoria Rosenman, 2021, Photo: Dusia Sobol

What stations and people have shaped you? I would replace “shaped” with “inspire”. Through all the traveling, my cosmopolitan nature has intensified a lot, so I can adapt and also feel comfortable in many situations. But what impresses me again and again are unprejudiced people who reveal a hospitality and cordiality that is inexplicable at first, who go through life with an unshakeable light-heartedness, just as my grandmother had been. I rarely meet such private people, but these people, of different ages, also belong to my circle of friends. I was shaped by school in Germany – cruel and traumatic. Studying art in Switzerland was also very ambivalent for my emotional state. Which writers do you find exciting at the moment and which books are on your bookshelf? I find Christian Kracht very exciting at the moment. I am a great fan of Russian classics, so of course all the works of Dostoevsky, Chekhov, Bulgakov can be found on my bookshelf. But I also love the thoughts of Oscar Wild, the descriptions of Max Frisch, the fantasies of Haruki Murakami – these are the books I see in front of me right now.

DEEDS WORLD - Victoria Rosenman photo by Dusia Sobol 2021 -2

Victoria Rosenman, 2021, Photo: Dusia Sobol

Which books have influenced or shaped you? “15 Years with Salvador Dali” by Amanda Lear. “The Diary of a Drug Addict” by Aleister Crowley, “Extravagant Thoughts” by Oscar Wild. What are you currently reading and where do you keep the book? It’s Edgar Allan Poe right now on my brass side table that I got hold of at Arkona Square ( the table!). I don’t think I’ll manage to keep reading the book – it bores me. The language is beautiful, though. What music do you listen to and when? Anywhere. Anything. Different times, different styles and languages. If you were to cook something for us, what would it be? Orecchiette with salsiccia in red wine sauce or “Dolma” (with minced meat filling though). You should not be a vegetarian. What do you like to eat best? Meat, fish, seafood. Truffles. How do you feel about breakfast? I love it – long and extensive. What sport or compensation do you do for your work? I meet people and look for contrasts in everyday life. Do you have any special passions that you burn for, and if so, which ones? Cats, travelling, antiques. What personality trait defines you? I like to take care of things. I adore everything aesthetic, am fascinated by absurdities and like to enjoy.

DEEDS WORLD - Victoria Rosenman photo Dusia Sobol 2021 -3

Victoria Rosenman, 2021, Photo: Dusia Sobol

INTERVIEW | ARTIST + POSITION

To begin, please tell us in a few sentences about your artistic vita.

Immediately after graduating from the Academy of Art and Design in Basel, I moved to Berlin. In 2013, I showed for the first time my long-standing project “Vom Vernichten einer Muse”, by exhibiting real people opposite their photographic images ( my artistic visions ). In 2015 I won a grant in Munich and developed that further by completing it with manifestos and other media.

Every year I show through various exhibitions and collaborations ( auctions, curation etc.) in different places, new insights into my work.

Briefly explain your current project or upcoming exhibition.

The upcoming exhibition is a completely new concept that will be shown for the first time at HAZEGALLERY in Berlin. I am lucky that the owner of the gallery and curator Irina Rusinovich appreciates my vision and supports young emerging artists (often with an Eastern European background ) in their work.

This time it is no longer about the muse, as flesh and blood inspiration – or exploring interpersonal relationships. The title “Concept for Mitigations” already involves the current idea. If you look for a synonym for the word mitigation, terms like “alleviation”, “relief”, “defusing” or “encouragement” come up. This time I am developing ( utopian ) solutions, advice, examples and prompts in the form of illustrations, objects and texts that “downplay” our human existence in a good sense or make it more pleasant. This time I am the mad doctor who produces and presents a medicine that is magical if you “accept” it and believe in it.

ART-at-Berlin-Courtesy-of-HazeGallery-Victoria-Rosenman-8

Work from the exhibition Concepts for Mitigations, HazeGallery, March 2022

What are you most concerned about at the moment?

My time.

How did you come to art? Why art?

As a child I had many extraordinary, beautiful daydreams and often ghastly nightmares – I needed to transform that into Something mostly tangible. 
I think art is sacred, immortal and omnipresent – I draw energy and greatest bliss from it.

What makes you happy?

My visions and the people around me.

What are you afraid of?

My own thoughts. Stiffness. Politics. 


Do you think art has a social responsibility? And what do you think it can achieve?

Art can bring about all sorts of things if you expose yourself to it or find access to it, but it bears no responsibility at all, since it is an independent and indomitable “force of nature” into which we project our own desires. The origin is freed from statements.

DEEDS WORLD - Victoria Rosenman - Studio

Victoria Rosenman, Studio

What constitutes your art? What is your work about – what are the central themes?

I explore fear because I think this phenomenon can bring us very close to our own authenticity. The different truths are exciting for me. The process of my art is more valuable than the end result. My art is multimedia and immaterial and it needs people, as inspiration and instruments.

Read Victoria Rosenman’s answer to her work further in THE DEED | DAS WERK.

How do you protect yourself from too much inspiration these days?

I wish I had more of inspiration.

How much in your work is planned beforehand – how much arises intuitively?

I plan very meticulously, but in the end something unexpected happens. 


DEEDS WORLD - Victoria Rosenman - photo by Dusia Sobol 2021

Victoria Rosenman, 2021, Photo: Dusia Sobol

What are your (next) goals?

More courage. 


What is your position on the subject of faith? Do you have principles of faith or is there a motto?

Which project would you still like to realize if lack of time, lack of courage or financial resources would not play a role?

My own art collection.


In your opinion, what are attributes for good art?

A longer thought process is triggered in the viewer. The work is “accessible” even for “non-art connoisseurs” but at the same time it is not transparent.

DEEDS WORLD - Victoria Rosenman photo by Dusia Sobol 2021 -4

Victoria Rosenman, 2021, Photo: Dusia Sobol

Is one born as an artist? Or is a study of art obligatory?

Some already carry it in themselves from the beginning, others need tools to evoke the artistic. There are no obligations. 


To whom do you show a new work first?

Differently.

What does the first hour of your day look like?

Coffee. Watching the sky. Music. Purification rituals.

In the age of the Internet of Things, are galleries still necessary? If yes, why and for what?

As long as it is not NFT art – it is indispensable to experience the work real, also to touch and taste if necessary. Real encounters are essential.

Social media – blessing or curse?

It is a good tool if you know how to use it in a worthy way.

EPILOGUE | CURRENT

The exhibibition Concepts for Mitigations by Victoria Rosenman can be seen from 11th March to 26th March 2022 at HazeGallery, Bülowstraße 11, 10789 Berlin-Schöneberg. Opening: 10th March 2022, 7:00 pm.

www.instagram.com/victoria_rosenman_artist

www.instagram.com/gemuesekabinett

www.facebook.com/victoria.rosenman

www.vicrosenman.com


In times of Corona, when travel, studio visits and personal contacts are inappropriate or even impossible, the written interview remains an important medium to introduce artist personalities, to spread their messages and to stay in touch with art lovers. The interviews are not edited or shortened by the editors and are always reproduced in original sound. Therefore, we do not translate the interview into English or German unless this is submitted by the interviewee.

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

THE INTERVIEW IN|DEEDS: Victoria Rosenman

PROLOG | PERSÖNLICHES

Victoria, wir führen dieses Interview schriftlich, aber stellen uns vor, dass wir uns gegenübersitzen. Wo sprechen wir zusammen – in Deinem Zuhause oder in Deinem Atelier? Wo treffen wir Dich? Ich arbeite am liebsten an unterschiedlichen Orten. Geschlossenen Atelierräumlichkeiten engen meinen Gedankenprozess und Arbeitsweise eher ein, deswegen bevorzuge ich einen ständig wechselnden Ort, an dem ich neuen Menschen bzw. Interessenten meiner Kunst begegne. Es müsste eine Atmosphäre sein, in der mich viele kontrastreiche Energien umgeben, so fühle ich mich weniger beobachtet und mehr geborgen. Irgendwo unter Menschen, oder draußen am Wasser, oder von ( architektonischen ) Kunstwerken umgeben wäre für eine Unterhaltung sehr produktiv. Vielleicht sitzen wir an Deinem Lieblingsplatz? In St. Petersburg an der Newa, in der Dämmerung. Woher kommst Du, wo bist Du wann geboren? Ich bin 1986 in Pskow in Russland geboren und meine Eltern sind dann sofort nach meiner Geburt nach Sankt-Petersburg gezogen, wo ich dann aufwuchs, bis ich zwölf war. Wo lebst und arbeitest Du derzeit? Ich lebe und arbeite hauptsächlich in Berlin. Es gibt immer kleine und grosse Zwischenstopps und Aufenthalte, die aber Berlin für mich noch liebenswerter machen.

DEEDS WORLD - Victoria Rosenman - photo by Dusia Sobol 2021 -1

Victoria Rosenman, 2021, Foto: Dusia Sobol

Welche Stationen und Menschen haben Dich geprägt? Ich würde „Prägen“ durch das „Inspirieren“ ersetzen. Durch das viele Reisen hat sich meine kosmopolitische Natur sehr intensiviert, sodass ich mich anpassen und auch in vielen Situationen wohl fühlen kann. Was mich aber immer wieder beeindruckt sind unvoreingenommene Menschen, die eine am Anfang unerklärliche Gastfreundschaft und Herzlichkeit offenbaren, die mit einer unerschütterlichen Unbeschwertheit durchs Leben gehen, so wie auch meine Grossmutter es gewesen ist. Solche Privatpersonen treffe ich selten, aber diese Menschen, unterschiedlichen Alters gehören auch zu meinem Freundeskreis. Geprägt hat mich die Schule in Deutschland – grausam und traumatisch. Das Kunststudium in der Schweiz war auch sehr ambivalent für meine Gefühlslage. Welche Schriftsteller:innen findest Du derzeit spannend und welche Bücher finden sich in Deinem Bücherregal? Gerade finde ich Christian Kracht sehr spannend. Ich bin ein grosser Fan russischer Klassiker, daher finden sich natürlich alle Werke Dostojewski’s, Tschechow’s, Bulgakov’s in meinem Bücherregal. Ich liebe aber auch die Gedanken von Oscar Wild, die Beschreibungen von Max Frisch, die Phantasien von Haruki Murakami – das sind die Bücher die ich gerade vor mir sehe.

DEEDS WORLD - Victoria Rosenman photo by Dusia Sobol 2021 -2

Victoria Rosenman, 2021, Foto: Dusia Sobol

Welche Bücher haben Dich beeinflusst oder geprägt? „15 Jahre mit Salvador Dali“ von Amanda Lear. „Das Tagebuch eines Drogenabhängigen“ von Aleister Crowley, „Extravagante Gedanken“ von Oscar Wild. Was liest Du aktuell und wo liegt das Buch griffbereit? Es liegt gerade Edgar Allan Poe auf meinem Messing-Beistelltisch, den ich am Arkonaplatz ergattert habe ( den Tisch!). Ich glaube ich schaffe es nicht das Buch weiterzulesen – es langweilt mich. Die Sprache ist aber schön. Welche Musik hörst Du und wann? Überall. Irgendwas. Verschiedener Zeiten, verschiedene Stile und Sprachen. Wenn Du etwas für uns kochen würdest, was wäre es? Orecchiette mit Salsiccia in Rotweinsoße oder „Dolma“ (mit Hackfleischfüllung aber). Sie sollten kein/e Vegetarier/in sein. Was isst Du am liebsten? Fleisch, Fisch, Meeresfrüchte. Trüffel. Was hältst Du vom Frühstücken? Ich liebes es – lange und ausgiebig. Welchen Sport oder Ausgleich zu Deiner Arbeit betreiben Sie? Ich treffe Menschen und suche Kontraste im Alltag. Haben Sie besondere Leidenschaften (Hobbies), für die Sie brennen, und wenn ja welche? Katzen, Reisen, Antiquitäten. Welches Persönlichkeitsmerkmal macht Sie aus? Ich kümmere mich gern. Ich verehre alles Ästhetische, bin von Absurditäten fasziniert und geniesse gern.

DEEDS WORLD - Victoria Rosenman photo Dusia Sobol 2021 -3

Victoria Rosenman, 2021, Foto: Dusia Sobol

INTERVIEW | KÜNSTLERIN + POSITION

Zu Beginn erzähle uns bitte in ein paar Sätzen Deine künstlerische Vita.

Unmittelbar nach dem Studienabschluss in Basel auf der Akademie für Kunst und Gestaltung, zog ich nach Berlin. 2013 zeigte ich zum ersten Mal mein langjähriges Projekt „Vom Vernichten einer Muse“, indem ich echte Menschen gegenüber ihrer Fotografischen Abbildungen ( meinen Künstlerischen Visionen ) ausstellte. 2015 habe ich ein Stipendium in München gewonnen und entwickelte das weiter, indem ich es mit Manifesten und weiteren Medien vervollständigte.

Jedes Jahr zeige ich durch diverse Ausstellungen und Kooperationen ( Auktionen, Kuration etc.) an unterschiedlichen Orten, neue Einblicke in mein Schaffen.

Erläutere uns kurz Dein aktuelles Projekt bzw. die kommende Ausstellung.

Die kommende Ausstellung ist ein komplett neues Konzept, das zum ersten Mal in der HAZEGALLERY in Berlin gezeigt wird. Ich habe das Glück, dass die Inhaberin der Galerie und Kuratorin Irina Rusinovich meine Visionen schätzt und junge aufstrebende Künstler (oft mit einem osteuropäischen Hintergrund ) in ihrem Schaffen unterstützt.

Dieses Mal geht es nicht mehr um die Muse, als Inspiration aus Fleisch und Blut – oder das Erforschen von zwischenmenschlichen Beziehungen. Der Titel „Konzept für Milderungen“ involviert schon in die aktuelle Idee. Wenn man für das Wort Milderung ein Synonym sucht kommen Begriffe, wie „Linderung“, „Erleichterung“, „Entschärfung“ oder „Ermunterung“ auf. Ich entwickele dieses Mal ( utopische ) Lösungen, Ratschläge, Beispiele und Aufforderungen in Form von Abbildungen, Objekten und Texten, die unser menschliches Dasein im guten Sinne „herunterspielen“ bzw. angenehmer gestalten. Ich bin dieses Mal der verrückter Doktor, der eine Medizin herstellt und präsentiert, die magisch ist, wenn man sie „akzeptiert“ und daran glaubt.

ART-at-Berlin-Courtesy-of-HazeGallery-Victoria-Rosenman-8

Werk aus der Ausstellung Concepts for Mitigations, HazeGallery, März 2022

Worüber machst Du Dir zurzeit am meisten Gedanken; was beschäftigt Dich?

Meine Zeit.

Wie bist Du zur Kunst gekommen? Warum Kunst?

Als Kind habe ich viele aussergewöhnliche, schöne Tagträume und oft grässliche Nachtträume gehabt – ich musste das in Etwas meist Greifbares umwandeln. Ich denke Kunst ist sakral, unsterblich und omnipräsent  – ich schöpfe Energie und grösste Glückseligkeit daraus.

Was macht Dich aktuell glücklich?

Meine Visionen und Menschen um mich herum.

Was macht Dir aktuell Angst?

Eigene Gedanken. Steifheit. Politik.

Glaubst Du, dass Kunst eine gesellschaftliche Verantwortung trägt? Und was denkst Du, was sie bewirken kann?

Kunst kann alles Mögliche bewirken, wenn man sich ihr ausliefert oder zu ihr Zugang findet, aber sie trägt gar keine Verantwortung, da es eine eigenständige und unbezwingliche „Naturgewalt“ ist, in die wir eigene Wünsche hineinprojizieren. Der Ursprung ist von Aussagen befreit.

DEEDS WORLD - Victoria Rosenman - Studio

Victoria Rosenman, Studio

Was macht Deine Kunst aus? Worum geht es in Deinem Werk – was sind die zentralen Themen?

Ich erforsche die Angst, da ich denke, dass dieses Phänomen uns sehr nahe der eigenen Authentizität bringen kann. Die unterschiedlichen Wahrheiten sind für mich spannend. Der Prozess meiner Kunst ist wertvoller, als das Endergebnis. Meine Kunst  ist multimedial und immateriell und sie benötigt Menschen, als Inspiration und Instrumente.

Lesen Sie die Antwort von Victoria Rosenman zu Ihrem Werk weiter in THE DEED | DAS WERK

Wie schützen Du Dich in der heutigen Zeit vor zu viel Inspiration?

Ich wünschte, ich hätte mehr von Inspiration.

Wie viel in Deinen Arbeiten ist vorher geplant – wie viel entsteht intuitiv?

Ich plane sehr akribisch, aber am Ende passiert doch etwas Unerwartetes.

DEEDS WORLD - Victoria Rosenman - photo by Dusia Sobol 2021

Victoria Rosenman, 2021, Foto: Dusia Sobol

Was sind Deine (nächsten) Ziele?

Mehr Mut.  

Wie stehst Du zum Thema Glauben? Hast Du Glaubensgrundsätze oder gibt es einen Leitspruch?

Welches Projekt würdest Du gerne noch realisieren, wenn fehlende Zeit, mangelnder Mut oder finanzielle Ressourcen keine Rolle spielen würden?

Eigene Kunstsammlung.

Was sind aus Deiner Sicht Attribute für gute Kunst?

Ein längerer Gedankenprozess wird beim Betrachter ausgelöst. Das Werk ist „zugänglich“ auch für „Nicht- Kunstkenner“ aber gleichzeitig ist es nicht transparent.

DEEDS WORLD - Victoria Rosenman photo by Dusia Sobol 2021 -4

Victoria Rosenman, 2021, Foto: Dusia Sobol

Wird man als Künstler:in geboren? Oder ist ein Kunststudium Pflicht?

Manche tragen es schon von Anfang an in sich, andere brauchen Hilfsmittel, um das Künstlerische hervorzurufen. Es gibt keine Pflichten.

Wem zeigst Du ein neues Werk zuerst?

Unterschiedlich.

Wie sieht die erste Stunde Deines Tages aus?

Kaffee. Himmel beobachten. Musik. Reinigungsrituale.

Sind im Zeitalter des Internets der Dinge Galerien noch notwendig? Wenn ja, warum und wofür?

Solange es keine NFT Kunst ist – ist es unabdingbar das Werk real zu erfahren, auch anzufassen und zu schmecken, wenn notwendig. Echte Begegnungen sind essentiell.

Social-Media – aus Ihrer Sicht Segen oder Fluch?

Es ist ein gutes Tool, wenn man weiss es würdig anzuwenden.

EPILOG | AKTUELLES

Die Ausstellung Concepts for Mitigations von Victoria Rosenman ist vom 11. März bis 26. März 2022 in der HazeGallery, Bülowstraße 11, 10789 Berlin-Schöneberg zu sehen. Eröffnung: 10. März 2022, 19:00 Uhr.

www.instagram.com/victoria_rosenman_artist

www.instagram.com/gemuesekabinett

www.facebook.com/victoria.rosenman

www.vicrosenman.com


In Zeiten von Corona, in denen Reisen, Atelierbesuche und persönliche Kontakte unangebracht oder sogar unmöglich sind, bleibt das schriftliche Interview ein wichtiges Medium, um Künstlerpersönlichkeiten vorzustellen, um ihre Botschaften zu verbreiten und um mit Kunstliebhabern in Kontakt zu bleiben. Die Interviews werden von der Redaktion nicht redigiert oder gekürzt und stets im O-Ton wiedergegeben. Daher nehmen wir auch keine Übersetzung des Interviews in Englische bzw. Deutsche vor, es sei den, diese wird seitens des/der Interviewten eingereicht.

This post is also available in: English

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.