THE INTERVIEW IN|DEEDS: Omar Hassan | Luisa Catucci Gallery

PROLOGUE | PERSONAL

Omar, if we were sitting face to face now, where would we talk together, where would we meet you? We are at the Luisa Catucci Gallery, in the Schillerkiez-Neukölln Berlin. It’s an amazing contemporary art gallery, and I’m glad to show my artworks in this space, and in this wonderful city.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview OMAR-HASSAN Omar-Hassan_Omar_2

Omar Hassan at Luisa Catucci Gallery, Exhibition view, 2021

Where do you come from, where were you born when? How and where do you currently live and work? I’m born and raised in Milano, by an Egyptian father and an Italian mother. Currently, I’m living between Milano and Miami. Which writers do you currently find exciting and which books are on your bookshelf? I love to read, and one of my favorite writers is Irvine Welsh. Unfortunately, it has been a long time since I’ve read a book because this past year I was working on my own one, which got published last June, titled “Per le Strade”.  Available on Amazon. What music do you listen to and when? I love the hip-hop scene, but I love to listen to all sorts of music, from Jimi Hendrix to Drake. If you would cook something for us, what would it be? I don’t like cooking, but I can make a pretty mean risotto. What do you like to eat most? I’m in love with meat, sorry vegetarians and vegan What do you think about breakfast? I never wake up hungry. I know it is not a particularly healthy choice, but I don’t really like to eat in the morning, so I am used to drinking one cappuccino and one coffee.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview OMAR-HASSAN Omar-Hassan_Omar_4

Omar Hassan in the basement of Luisa Catucci Gallery, Exhibition view, 2021

What kind of sport or counterbalance to your work do you practice? Do you have special passions for which you are burning, and if so, which ones? I always practice boxing. I grew as an agonistic boxer, that is a passion you do not forget easily. What personality trait defines you? I think I’m very generous, generally, and particularly with friends. I also try my best to be a proper gentleman, I do believe to be good-mannered is very important. My father taught me as much, and I am grateful.

INTERVIEW | ARTIST + POSITION

To begin, please tell us your artistic vita in a few sentences.                                                             

I graduated from the Fine Art Academy of Brera Milano. After graduation, I started quite fast to work with a good gallery in Milan. Later, in 2015 I made a big solo exhibition in London that had a very big success. From that moment I got the attention of several big players of the international contemporary art scene, which pushed my career between all continents. Now I am happy and proud to have my works in many major collections, public and private, worldwide.

Briefly explain your current project / the upcoming exhibition.

At the present time, I am here in Berlin with two solo exhibitions organized by my gallerist Luisa Catucci: one in her showrooms in the Schillerkiez Neukölln, and another opening on September 16th at Bermel von Luxburg Gallery, in Fasanenstrasse in Charlottenburg.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview OMAR-HASSAN Omar-Hassan_set-up_4

Luisa Catucci Gallery, Exhibition view, 2021

It is my first solo exhibition in Berlin, a peculiar city, during a particular historical moment for art and culture, very exciting! The unusual fact of having a double exhibition in the same town, but in such different city areas is very fascinating for me. The Metropolitan Districts, as distinctive social and educational realities, are a fundamental theme in my artistic practice. Plus, this collaboration between galleries shows me that in the art scene competition is not always the winning strategy and that joining forces is possible.

After this shows, I will focus on preparing my next solo exhibition, coming up next winter in Dubai.

What are you most concerned about at the moment; what is on your mind?                              

I am a bit concerned about the current restrictions to travel, as it complicates my life quite a bit, living between continents. But at the same time, I am very happy to show my work for the first time in Germany, and I am very grateful for the enthusiasm I did receive by the art scene here in Berlin.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview OMAR-HASSAN Luisa-Catucci-Gallery-017

Luisa Catucci Gallery, Exhibition view, 2021

How did you come to art? Why art?

Art has always been an important side of me since childhood, and I’ve always been aware that by working hard, day after day, I would become an artist too.

What makes you happy at the moment?                                                                                      

The possibility to show you my latest piece: a big map figuring the Districts of Berlin, realized with over 10.400 hand-painted spray-can caps. On display in the showrooms of Luisa Catucci Gallery until October 15th, do not miss it.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview OMAR-HASSAN Omar-Hassan_Omar

Omar Hassan at Luisa Catucci Gallery, Exhibition view, 2021

What is currently scaring you?

———

Do you believe that art has a social responsibility? And what do you think it can do?            

Yes, of course, art sometimes can be educational. Some other times it can be just inspirational, but inspiration, as well as education, is also fundamental to the well being of humankind.

What makes your art special? What is it about – what are the central themes of your work?

My art speaks to intergenerational people. Inspired by the urban life, and the sport of boxing -as a metaphor for the fights and personal struggles we all face by ourselves in life- my artistic research speaks a language that many people not only can understand but also identify with.It speaks of collectivity, and at the same time of the uniqueness of every single being. It speaks about the struggle to merge or even survive in contemporary society. It speaks about the interconnectivity of our past culture and the present one. It speaks about my personal troubles, as a diabetic type 1 person. But mostly it speaks about never giving up the fire that allows us to fight and to win our battles, eventually.

Read Omar Hassan’s answer to the question in his work further in THE DEED | DAS WERK.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview OMAR-HASSAN Omar-Hassan_Omar_1

Omar Hassan at Luisa Catucci Gallery, Exhibition view, 2021

How do you protect yourself from too much inspiration these days?

———

How much in your works is planned in advance – how much is created intuitively?

———

What are your (next) goals?

The solo exhibition in Dubai, and a couple of Institutional exhibitions that I am preparing.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview OMAR-HASSAN Omar-Hassan_works

Luisa Catucci Gallery, Exhibition view, 2021

What is your opinion about faith? Do you have principles of faith or is there a motto?

I believe in God, but my only faith is in the arts. I believe in strong energy and good vibes. My motto is:” I’m not punching to destroy, I’m creating”

Which project would you still like to realize, if lack of time, courage or financial resources would not play a role?

———

What do you consider to be attributes of good art?

I believe good art needs to be developed from a real concept, and a good deep reflection and research behind it.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview OMAR-HASSAN Omar-Hassan_set-up_9

Luisa Catucci Gallery, Exhibition view, 2021

Is one born as an artist*? Or is studying art compulsory in your view?

Both

To whom do you show a new work first? 

To my friend Francesco, he is an amazing performer, very prepared, and he knows me quite well.

What does the first hour of your day look like?

I really love the light in the morning and I enjoy waking up early, possibly when everyone else is still asleep.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview OMAR-HASSAN Omar-Hassan_set-up_5

Luisa Catucci Gallery, Exhibition view, 2021

EPILOGUE | CURRENT

The solo exhibition BREAKING THROUGH BERLIN by Omar Hassan is presented in two Berlin galleries: from 6th September to 15th October 2021 at Luisa Catucci Gallery, Allerstraße 38, 12049 Berlin-Neukölln and accompanying fom 16th September to 17th October 2021 at Bermel von Luxburg Gallery, Fasanenstraße 29, 10719 Berlin-Charlottenburg.

www.omarhassan.art

www.instagram.com/omarhassanarte


In times of Corona, when travel, studio visits and personal contacts are inappropriate or even impossible, the written interview remains an important medium to introduce artist personalities, to spread their messages and to stay in touch with art lovers. The interviews are not edited or shortened by the editors and are always reproduced in original sound. Therefore, we do not translate the interview into English or German unless the interviewee submits a translation.

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

THE INTERVIEW IN|DEEDS: Omar Hassan | Luisa Catucci Gallery

PROLOG | PERSÖNLICHES

Omar, wenn wir uns jetzt gegenübersitzen würden, wo sprächen wir zusammen, wo träfen wir Dich? Wir sind in der Galerie Luisa Catucci im Schillerkiez-Neukölln in Berlin. Es ist eine erstaunliche Galerie für zeitgenössische Kunst, und ich freue mich, meine Werke in diesem Ausstellungsraum und in dieser wunderbaren Stadt zeigen zu können.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview OMAR-HASSAN Omar-Hassan_Omar_2

Omar Hassan in der Luisa Catucci Gallery, Ausstellungsansicht, 2021

Woher kommst Du, wo bist Du wann geboren? Ich bin in Mailand geboren und aufgewachsen, mit einem ägyptischen Vater und einer italienischen Mutter. Wo lebst und arbeitest Du derzeit? Derzeit lebe ich zwischen Mailand und Miami. Welche Schriftsteller:innen findest Du derzeit spannend und welche Bücher finden sich in Deinem Bücherregal? Ich liebe es zu lesen, und einer meiner Lieblingsautoren ist Irvine Welsh. Leider ist es schon lange her, dass ich ein Buch gelesen habe, denn im vergangenen Jahr habe ich an meinem eigenen Buch gearbeitet, das im Juni letzten Jahres unter dem Titel “Per le Strade” veröffentlicht wurde.  Erhältlich bei Amazon. Welche Musik hörst Du und wann? Ich liebe die Hip-Hop-Szene, aber ich höre alle Arten von Musik, von Jimi Hendrix bis Drake. Wenn Du etwas für uns kochen würdest, was wäre es? Ich koche nicht gern, aber ich kann ein ziemlich gutes Risotto machen. Was isst Du am liebsten? Ich liebe Fleisch, sorry Vegetarier und Veganer. Was hältst Du vom Frühstücken? Ich wache nie hungrig auf. Ich weiß, dass das nicht besonders gesund ist, aber ich mag morgens nicht wirklich etwas essen, also trinke ich einen Cappuccino und einen Kaffee.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview OMAR-HASSAN Omar-Hassan_Omar_4

Omar Hassan im basement der Luisa Catucci Gallery, Ausstellungsansicht, 2021

Welchen Sport oder Ausgleich zu Ihrer Arbeit betreibst Du? Hast Du besondere Leidenschaften, für die Du brennst, und wenn ja welche? Ich habe immer geboxt. Ich wuchs als agonistischer Boxer auf, das ist eine Leidenschaft, die man nicht so schnell vergisst. Welches Persönlichkeitsmerkmal macht Dich aus? Ich denke, ich bin sehr großzügig, im Allgemeinen und vor allem mit Freunden. Ich versuche auch mein Bestes, ein richtiger Gentleman zu sein, ich glaube, dass gute Manieren sehr wichtig sind. Mein Vater hat mir das beigebracht, und dafür bin ich dankbar.

INTERVIEW | KÜNSTLER + POSITION

Zu Beginn erzähle uns bitte in ein paar Sätzen Deine künstlerische Vita.

Ich habe meinen Abschluss an der Brera Kunstakademie in Mailand gemacht. Nach meinem Abschluss begann ich recht schnell, mit einer guten Galerie in Mailand zu arbeiten. Später, im Jahr 2015, hatte ich eine große Einzelausstellung in London, die ein sehr großer Erfolg war. Von diesem Moment an erregte ich die Aufmerksamkeit mehrerer großer Vertreter der internationalen zeitgenössischen Kunstszene, was meine Karriere auf allen Kontinenten vorantrieb. Jetzt bin ich glücklich und stolz darauf, dass meine Werke in vielen bedeutenden öffentlichen und privaten Sammlungen weltweit vertreten sind.

Erläutere uns kurz Dein aktuelles Projekt bzw. die kommende Ausstellung.

Zur Zeit bin ich hier in Berlin mit zwei Einzelausstellungen, die von meiner Galeristin Luisa Catucci organisiert wurden: eine in ihren Ausstellungsräumen im Schillerkiez Neukölln und eine weitere, die am 16. September in der Galerie Bermel von Luxburg in der Fasanenstraße in Charlottenburg eröffnet wird.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview OMAR-HASSAN Omar-Hassan_set-up_4

Luisa Catucci Gallery, Ausstellungsansicht, 2021

Es ist meine erste Einzelausstellung in Berlin, einer besonderen Stadt, in einem besonderen kunst- und kulturhistorischen Moment, sehr spannend! Die ungewöhnliche Tatsache, eine Doppelausstellung in der gleichen Stadt, aber in so unterschiedlichen Stadtteilen zu haben, ist für mich sehr faszinierend. Die Stadtbezirke als besondere soziale und erzieherische Gegebenheiten sind ein grundlegendes Thema in meiner künstlerischen Praxis. Außerdem zeigt mir diese Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Galerien, dass in der Kunstszene der Wettbewerb nicht immer die beste Strategie ist und dass es möglich ist, die Kräfte zu bündeln.

Nach dieser Ausstellung werde ich mich auf die Vorbereitung meiner nächsten Einzelausstellung konzentrieren, die im nächsten Winter in Dubai stattfinden wird.

Worüber machst Du Dir zurzeit am meisten Gedanken; was beschäftigt Dich?

Ich bin ein wenig besorgt über die derzeitigen Reisebeschränkungen, da sie mein Leben zwischen den Kontinenten ziemlich verkomplizieren. Aber gleichzeitig bin ich sehr glücklich, meine Arbeit zum ersten Mal in Deutschland zu zeigen, und ich bin sehr dankbar für den Enthusiasmus, der mir von der Kunstszene hier in Berlin entgegengebracht wurde.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview OMAR-HASSAN Luisa-Catucci-Gallery-017

Luisa Catucci Gallery, Ausstellungsansicht, 2021

Wie bist Du zur Kunst gekommen? Warum Kunst?

Die Kunst war seit meiner Kindheit immer ein wichtiger Teil von mir, und ich war mir immer bewusst, dass ich durch harte Arbeit, Tag für Tag, auch ein Künstler werden würde.

Was macht Dich aktuell glücklich?

Ich habe die Möglichkeit, Ihnen mein neuestes Werk zu zeigen: eine große Karte, die die Bezirke Berlins abbildet und mit über 10.400 handbemalten Sprühdosen-Kappen realisiert wurde. Zu sehen in den Ausstellungsräumen der Luisa Catucci Gallery bis zum 15. Oktober, verpassen Sie es nicht.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview OMAR-HASSAN Omar-Hassan_Omar

Omar Hassan in der Luisa Catucci Gallery, Ausstellungsansicht, 2021

Was macht Dir aktuell Angst?

———

Glaubst Du, dass Kunst eine gesellschaftliche Verantwortung trägt? Und was denkst Du, was sie bewirken kann?

Ja, natürlich kann Kunst manchmal lehrreich sein. Ein anderes Mal kann sie einfach nur inspirierend sein, aber Inspiration ist ebenso wie Bildung grundlegend für das Wohlergehen der Menschheit.

Was macht Deine Kunst aus? Worum geht es in Deinem Werk – was sind die zentralen Themen?

Meine Kunst spricht die Menschen zwischen den Generationen an. Inspiriert durch das urbane Leben und den Boxsport – als Metapher für die Kämpfe und persönlichen Auseinandersetzungen, denen wir uns alle im Leben stellen – spricht meine künstlerische Forschung eine Sprache, die viele Menschen nicht nur verstehen, sondern mit der sie sich auch identifizieren können.  Sie spricht von Kollektivität und gleichzeitig von der Einzigartigkeit jedes einzelnen Wesens. Es geht um den Kampf, sich in der heutigen Gesellschaft zu integrieren oder gar zu überleben. Er spricht von der Verflechtung unserer vergangenen Kultur mit der gegenwärtigen. Es spricht über meine persönlichen Probleme als Diabetiker Typ 1. Vor allem aber geht es darum, niemals das Feuer aufzugeben, das uns erlaubt, zu kämpfen und unsere Kämpfe letztendlich zu gewinnen.

Lesen Sie die Antwort von Omar Hassan zur Frage nach seinem Werk weiter in THE DEED | DAS WERK.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview OMAR-HASSAN Omar-Hassan_Omar_1

Omar Hassan in der Luisa Catucci Gallery, Ausstellungsansicht, 2021

Wie schützt Du Dich in der heutigen Zeit vor zu viel Inspiration?

———

Wie viel in Deinen Arbeiten ist vorher geplant – wie viel entsteht intuitiv?

———

Was sind Deine (nächsten) Ziele?

Die Einzelausstellung in Dubai und eine Reihe von institutionellen Ausstellungen, die ich vorbereite.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview OMAR-HASSAN Omar-Hassan_works

Luisa Catucci Gallery, Ausstellungsansicht, 2021

Wie stehst Du zum Thema Glauben? Hast Du Glaubensgrundsätze oder gibt es einen Leitspruch?

Ich glaube an Gott, aber mein einziger Glaube ist der an die Kunst. Ich glaube an starke Energie und gute Vibes. Mein Motto lautet: “Ich schlage nicht, um zu zerstören, ich schaffe”.

Welches Projekt würdest Du gerne noch realisieren, wenn fehlende Zeit, mangelnder Mut oder finanzielle Ressourcen keine Rolle spielen würden?

———

Was sind aus Deiner Sicht Attribute für gute Kunst?

Ich glaube, dass gute Kunst aus einem echten Konzept und einer guten, tiefgründigen Reflexion und Recherche heraus entwickelt werden muss.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview OMAR-HASSAN Omar-Hassan_set-up_9

Luisa Catucci Gallery, Ausstellungsansicht, 2021

Wird man als Künstler:in geboren? Oder ist ein Kunststudium aus Deiner Sicht Pflicht?

Beides.

Wem zeigst Du ein neues Werk zuerst?

Mein Freund Francesco ist ein erstaunlicher Performance Künstler, sehr gut vorbereitet, und er kennt mich ziemlich gut.

Wie sieht die erste Stunde Deines Tages aus?

Ich liebe das Licht am Morgen und genieße es, früh aufzustehen, wenn alle anderen vielleicht noch schlafen.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview OMAR-HASSAN Omar-Hassan_set-up_5

Luisa Catucci Gallery, Ausstellungsansicht, 2021

EPILOG | AKTUELLES

Die Einzelausstellung BREAKING THROUGH BERLIN von Omar Hassan ist in zwei Beriner Galerien zu sehen: vom 6. September bis 15. Oktober 2021 in der Luisa Catucci Gallery, Allerstraße 38, 12049 Berlin-Neukölln und zeitgleich vom 16. September bis 17. Oktober 2021 in in der Bermel von Luxburg Gallery, Fasanenstraße 29, 10719 Berlin-Charlottenburg.

www.omarhassan.art

www.instagram.com/omarhassanarte


In Zeiten von Corona, in denen Reisen, Atelierbesuche und persönliche Kontakte unangebracht oder sogar unmöglich sind, bleibt das schriftliche Interview ein wichtiges Medium, um Künstlerpersönlichkeiten vorzustellen, um ihre Botschaften zu verbreiten und um mit Kunstliebhabern in Kontakt zu bleiben. Die Interviews werden von der Redaktion nicht redigiert oder gekürzt und stets im O-Ton wiedergegeben. Daher nehmen wir auch keine Übersetzung des Interviews in Englische bzw. Deutsche vor, es sei den, diese wird seitens des/der Interviewten eingereicht.

This post is also available in: English

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.