THE INTERVIEW IN|DEEDS: Marina Apud Schneider

PROLOGUE | PERSONAL

Where do we talk together, where do we meet you? We are in my Atelier, standing by the window. We can hear birds and smell the oils and turpentine in the studio’s air, you will also see bizarre things, like bugs, bones and rocks that are probably in a painting or will soon make an appearance. Maybe we are sitting at your favorite place? Just by the window. Ever since I can remember windows invite me to enter in a contemplative state. Where do you come from, where were you born when? I’m from Argentina, specifically San Isidro, it’s a suburban area in Buenos Aires. I was born in the city of Buenos Aires on September 10th 1982.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Marina Apud Schneider - Portrait - courtesy the artist

Marina Apud Schneider, Portrait, courtesy the artist

How and where do you currently live and work? Currently I am living and painting in the Valenciana community of Spain, but I have high intentions hopes to soon move to the lower Nordic latitudes areas. Which stations and people have shaped you? At one point I tried studying fine arts but I only lasted a few months. I didn’t feel academics were beneficial to me. As I see it, art should occur from within, not the other way around. I’m not saying that it’s wrong, someone else could greatly benefit from the opposite. Sharing my workplace with other artists has definitely enriched my craft, but the thing that shaped me the most is contemplation, seeing light melt onto all things. And engaging in a deep pilgrimage within myself. Which writers do you currently find exciting and which books are on your bookshelf? The books in my library are about religion, spirituality and transpersonal psychology. Some of the authors and titles I have on my bookshelf are: Franz Jalics, Eckhart Tolle, Tao Te Ching, Paramahansa Yogananda, The gospels, D. T. Susuki about Zen, Enrique Martínez Lozano, Thich Nhat Hanh, etc.  Which books have influenced or shaped you? I wouldn’t say influenced or shaped, I don’t think that is what happens when you resonate with something you read. I don’t think that something external has to come in and change or fix us. I would say that they are texts that revive you, enlighten you, reconnect us with ourselves, with what was already there. To me those books were the mystical ones, the wise and spiritual masters that I mentioned before. What are you currently reading and where do you keep the book? The books that I am currently reading are on my bedside table and they are “I am THAT” by Sri Nisargadatta Maharaj, “Metaphors of non-dualism” by Enrique Martínez and “Silence” by Thich Nhat Hanh.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Marina Apud Schneider im Atelier

Marina Apud Schneider in her studio, courtesy the artist

What music do you listen to and when? I usually listen to music while painting. My music taste is very diverse. I listen to electronic music like Boris Brejcha, metal, for example Rammstein, Icelandic musicians like Ólafur Arnalds, Björk, the ukrainians Dakhabrakha, the Iranian Mehdi Aminian, the Estonian Arvo Pärt, the German Max Richter, and so on. I think what predominates is classical music; Beethoven, Mozart, Vivaldi, especially Johan Sebastian Bach, his chorale never stops overwhelming me. I love music and I am always discovering new treasures. If you would cook something for us, what would it be? I really like to knead. I would probably make you a wonderful bread roll with some brown sugar and cinnamon.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Marina Apud Schneider in front of artwork at Galerie mutare - -c- Galerie Mutare

Marina Apud Schneider in front of  one of her artworks at Galerie mutare, Berlin

What do you like to eat most? I like sweet things the most; cakes, cookies, desserts, buns, spiced things… I was lucky to grow up with a mother with a great palette and taste so I love good quality food, both in the raw ingredients and in the production. What do you think about breakfast? Breakfast was never something important to me; on the contrary, if I eat in the morning I usually don’t feel well afterwards. The only thing I have in the morning is mate (a tea-like infusion from Argentina) and later in the morning I’ll have some fruit. What kind of sport or counterbalance to your work do you practice Since I spend many hours sitting or standing while I paint, I try to walk while I’m not painting. I walk a lot, generally at a fast pace. I also enjoy stretching my body, improvising yoga positions or others that might intuitively occur to relax my muscles and articulations. Do you have special passions for which you are burning, and if so, which ones? I really enjoy cooking and singing; music is something that is calling to me desperately. I also like to learn languages and write.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Marina Apud Schneider - Atelier Marina-min

View into the studio

What personality trait defines you? I don’t think I fit into any stereotype. I think I’m a bit of a hermit. I always noticed that I perceive things very differently from others. I am a silent observer of humans and nature, a great admirer of life. Do you have a concern that you would like to share with us or a certain question, which you would like to give an answer to? I do have a question but not the answer: why do we insist in “living” life numb, immersed in frivolities, consuming trash (visual, auditory, mental…) that is intoxicating and keeps us half dead, asleep, and we don’t take the courage in engaging in deep contact with who we really are, the only point from which you can truly fully live life?

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Marina Apud Schneider - Portrait

Marina Apud Schneider

INTERVIEW | ARTIST + POSITION

To begin, please tell us about your artistic vita in a few sentences.

I always characterized myself for having a large internal universe and I never really tried much in expressing it, exteriorizing it, showing it. Which is why my artistic vitta is limited to some sporadic expositions in Argentina, and only some contest entries. I think only since the coronavirus I started to feel the strong impulse to showcase my craft.

Briefly explain your current project or  the upcoming exhibition.

At this moment I am showcasing some of my works from the last 3 years in the Mutare Galerie in Berlin. Depending on what gestates there, I will see what is born.

What are you currently most concerned about; what is on your mind?

The thing that takes my mind up the most is ironically stopping the unhinged mental chatter of my mind to make space for the contemplating state, a state which I consider conductive for the creative process.

How did you come to art? Why art?

At the age of 11 I began to be more intensely interested in art. I think my first favorite painter was Caravaggio; I was fascinated by looking at his paintings in an art book. I mainly remember his painting “the death of the Virgin” in which you see a huge red cloth hanging from above. I loved it and tried to copy it with acrylics on paper and that red cloth was one of the first things that most inspired me to paint. Other images that always dazzled me were the silent light of Rembrandt, the mystical still lifes of Zurbaran, the extreme baroque chiaroscuro of José de Ribera, the furs of Velazquez, the strange flowers emerging from the blackness painted by the Dutch artist Rachel Ruysch and many others who shared that same light and darkness, in that same time and place in the world. All of them were great awakeners of my desire to paint. At 12 I asked my parents to send me to Marcelo De Angelis´s workshop, a great painter. We Immediately hit it off without the need of exchanging many words. I think that art unconsciously heals and arranges the mind. It is a direct connection with the mystery of life.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Marina Apud Schneider - David - 50 x 60 cm - 2019-min

Marina Apud Schneider, 50 x 60 cm, 2019, 4000 EUR

What makes you currently happy – in this moment?

What makes me happy right now is knowing, even though it sometimes doesn’t show, that the layers that cover me, those layers that recover the being, slowly start to fall off and the life that I/we truly are, starts manifesting.

What is currently scaring you?

I don’t think I can say that something scares me. There are things that I wouldn’t want to fall into or that I try not to keep falling in, like becoming numb (both spiritually and mentally), not daring, not trusting, perpetuating my unconscious, not believing that life is to fully live and not a tortuous effort after another.

Do you believe that art has a social responsibility? And what do you think it can do?

I think it would be very good for people to have art more present in society. That our day to day be impregnated by art in all its forms. For it to get more attention in school, streets, everywhere. I consider that aesthetics enhances the soul, it is a toner for humanity; who doesn’t become amazed at the sculpture in the park, the work of a cabinetmaker at a door, the violin strings vibrating on a subway, a painting in a waiting room…? They are small wholesome instants of direct connection with oneself. A connection that I consider highly healing for people, and hence, society.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Marina Apud Schneider - Fruechte - 90 x 70 cm - 2021-min

Marina Apud Schneider, 90 x 70 cm, 2021, 6000 EUR

What makes your art special? What is it about – what are the central themes of your work?

Mi art is a return to the value of the essential, to simplicity. A door that opens for me, through the contemplation of the realistic image, without preconceptions or adjectives, to enter that dimension that is, in my opinion, the truly Real one.

Read the answer of Marina Apud Schneider about her work further in THE DEED | DAS WERK .

How do you protect yourself from too much inspiration these days?

On the contrary, I actually think we lack inspiration today, perhaps you mean information and influence. That abounds, perhaps in excess. I believe that inspiration comes from the inside out, from the being, which is the creative source. Nowadays I consider that inspiration is scarce because we are continually bombarded with information and influences, both of which come from the outside in and are noise that does not allow us to get in touch with our genuine creative force that springs from inner silence, which is, at less as I see it, indispensable in the creative process. As an antidote to all that numbs inspiration, I consider very useful for me, the rationing of the use of electronic devices, avoiding watching the news, doing without radios and televisions, consuming quality things in every aspect, from the movie I choose to watch, the talks that I decide to have, the thoughts that I allow and perpetuate in my mind, being in contact with nature, carrying out contemplative practices, etc. In short, choose healthy habits instead of toxic influences that block the flow of creativity, inspiration.

How much in your works is planned beforehand – how much is created intuitively?

I believe that the intuitive predominates in my work: the motives I choose, how I place them, where, with what lighting… all of this arises without rational explanation. I have the feeling that everything arises intuitively; that the intuitive is the direct connection with the Source, source from which all creation springs.

What are your (next) goals?

I´ll intend to showcase more of my work in galleries and collaborate with the revaluation of realistic painting and continue delving into my own aesthetics.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Marina Apud Schneider - Fuchsschaedel

Marina Apud Schneider, Fuchsschädel, 116 x 97 cm

What is your opinion about faith? Do you have principles of faith or is there a motto?

Well, this is a subject on which I would expand a great deal and on which we have to be very careful because the words in each language and even in each person have a different connotation, so there is a lot of room for misinterpretation. But very briefly I am going to say that I love religions, they arouse a lot of interest in me. I do not consider that they are necessarily essential for the fullness of the spirit in a person, but it seems to me that they are like codes with symbolism that one can decode and understand their message throughout life. But at the same time, unfortunately these codes can be misunderstood and religions can be taken as beliefs that differentiate us and separate us from others, who belong to another belief different from ours. So that religion/belief, which was supposed to be the path to the spirit, the point at which we are one with everyone, turns out that it ends up separating us, differentiating and even confronting us with the other, therefore the opposite happens and not his true purpose: unconditionality, union, love.

Which project would you still like to realize, if lack of time, courage or financial resources would not play a role?

Something that I would like to do soon is to have my home/Atelier in a forest, a place immersed in nature, where I can dedicate myself deeply to contemplation, silence and therefore immerse myself more in painting and the development of my work from deeper layers of the being.

What do you consider to be attributes of good art?

I believe that we are entering a period of art in which the technical mastery of ancient realism will be balanced with the unconscious spontaneous impulse of abstraction of recent times. The revaluation and union of these two extremes is, in my opinion, genius in art.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Marina Apud Schneider - Artischocken 100 x 81 cm-min

Marina Apud Schneider, 100 x 81 cm

Is one born as an artist? Or is studying art compulsory in your view?

I believe that one is born with an impulse to carry out a certain activity and surely it is easier for him to carry it out than for other people. But you don’t have to stop there. I think you have to develop it, perfect it with practice, academically or not, that depends on each person. In my case, learning was always mostly on my own. What I understand is very important, one must develop as a person, immersing oneself in the depths of oneself, coming into contact with the spirit, getting in touch with life. One could spend a lifetime practicing, studying, etc. but if there was no parallel internal growth and maturity, the work will reflect what we are: it will be a superficial, frivolous, lukewarm, immature, empty work…

To whom do you show a new work first?

To my life partner, my husband.

What does the first hour of your day look like?

During the first half hour I go to the bathroom, brush my teeth, prepare my children’s lunch for school and prepare my mate. The next half hour I sit outside to drink mate and contemplate the mountains, to perceive the dreamlike images that remain from the night, to capture/decode some other symbolism that sprouts at the beginning of the day.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Marina Apud Schneider - Exhibition view Galerie mutare - -c- Galerie Mutare-min

Exhibition view Galerie mutare, Berlin in March/April 2022

In times of the internet of things, are galleries still necessary? If so, why and what for?

I think galleries are very necessary. On the Internet we can get to know the work of many artists and that is great, but I think that being physically in front of a work and perhaps also the one who executed it has enormous value. I think that galleries should receive great support from governments, that would be another way to promote art.

Social media – in your view a blessing or a curse?

I think social media are a very good tool. They serve, for example, as a showcase, to show what we do and to find out what other artists do. But I think it is important to remember that it is just that: one more tool to spread our work and not give it so much time and importance. Today this is my vision of social media, perhaps at some other point in my life I will simply do without them.

EPILOGUE | CURRENT

The exhibition of paintings by Marina Apud Schneider, together with objects by the sculptor Hinrich Kröger, is on view from 5 March to 23 April 2022 at Galerie mutare, Giesebrechtstraße 12, 10629 Berlin-Charlottenburg.

www.instagram.com/marinaapud

www.facebook.com/marinaapud


The written interview is an important medium to introduce artists, to spread their messages and to get in touch with art lovers. The interviews are not edited or shortened by our editorial team and are always reproduced in original sound. Therefore, we do not translate the interview into English or German unless the interviewee submits a translation.

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

THE INTERVIEW IN|DEEDS: Marina Apud Schneider

PROLOG | PERSÖNLICHES

Marina, wo sprechen wir zusammen, wo treffen wir Dich? Wir sind in meinem Atelier am Fenster. Vögel sind zu hören und es riecht nach Terpentin und Öle. Ihr könnt Fremdkörper wie Insekten, Knochen, Steine sehen … die sicherlich in irgendeinem Bild erschienen, oder erscheinen werden. Vielleicht sitzen wir an Deinem Lieblingsplatz? Neben dem Fenster ist mein Lieblingsplatz. Fenster haben  mich immer zu einen kontemplativen Zustand eingeladen. Woher kommst Du, wo bist Du wann geboren? Ich komme aus Argentinien, San Isidro, einem Vorort von Buenos Aires. Ich wurde am 10. September 1982 in der Stadt Buenos Aires geboren.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Marina Apud Schneider - Portrait - courtesy the artist

Marina Apud Schneider, Portrait, courtesy the artist

Wo lebst und arbeitest Du derzeit? Heute lebe und male ich in der valencianischen Gemeinschaft Spaniens, aber mit großen Wünschen nach einem schnellen Umzug in die unteren nordischen Breitengrade. Welche Stationen und Menschen haben Dich geprägt? Irgendwann habe ich versucht, Bildende Kunst zu studieren, aber es dauerte nur sehr wenige Monate. Ich hatte nicht das Gefühl, dass die Art des akademischen Lernens gut für mich war. Aus meiner Sicht muss Kunst von innen heraus entstehen und nicht umgekehrt. Ich sage nicht, dass es falsch ist, es kann jemand anderem viel dienen. Obwohl mich die Tatsache, einen Workshop mit anderen Künstlern zu teilen bereichert hat, was mich in der Malerei am meisten geprägt hat, war die Kontemplation, das Licht über alle Dinge ausbreiten zu sehen. Und malen und malen. Das wahr und ist noch eine lange Pilgerreise in mein Inneres. Welche Schriftsteller*innen findest Du derzeit spannend und welche Bücher finden sich in Deinem Bücherregal? Die Bücher, die ich in meiner Bibliothek habe, handeln von transpersonaler Psychologie, Spiritualität und Religionen. Einige der Autoren oder Titel die ich habe, sind: Franz Jalics, Eckhart Tolle, Tao Te Ching, Paramahansa Yogananda, Die Evangelien, D. T. Susuki über Zen, Enrique Martínez Lozano, Thich Nhat Hanh usw.. Welche Bücher haben Dich beeinflusst oder geprägt? Ich würde nicht beeinflusst sagen , da ich nicht glaube, dass das passiert wenn man mit einer Lesung mitschwingt. Ich glaube nicht, dass etwas Äußeres kommen sollte, das uns formt, bildet oder repariert. Ich würde sagen, dass es Lesungen sind, die uns wieder aufleben lassen, erwecken, uns wieder mit unserem Sein verbinden mit dem, was bereits da war. Diese Bücher sind für mich die von Mystikern, Weisen und spirituellen Lehrern wie die, die ich zuvor genannt habe. Was liest Du aktuell und wo liegt das Buch griffbereit? Die Bücher, die ich heute lese, oder wieder lese, liegen auf meinem Nachttisch und sind: “Ich bin DAS” von Sri Nisargadatta Maharaj, “Metaphern der Nicht-Dualität” von Enrique Martínez Lozano und “Stille” von Thich Nhat Hanh.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Marina Apud Schneider im Atelier

Marina Apud Schneider im Atelier, courtesy the artist

Welche Musik hörst Du und wann? Normalerweise, wenn ich Musik höre, ist es während ich male. Mein Musikgeschmack ist sehr vielfältig. Ich höre elektronische Musik wie Boris Brejcha, Metal wie Rammstein, isländische Interpreten wie Ólafur Arnalds, Björk, die Ukrainer Dakhabrakha, den Iraner Mehdi Aminian, den Estnisch Arvo Pärt, den Deutschen Max Richter usw. usw. Vielleicht überwiegt im Allgemeinen die klassische Musik: unter anderem Beethoven, Mozart, Vivaldi und vor allem Johan Sebastian Bach; seine Chorale hören nicht auf mich zu überwälltigen. Ich liebe Musik und entdecke immer wieder neue Schätze. Wenn Du etwas für uns kochen würdest, was wäre es? Ich knete wirklich gerne. Sicherlich würde ich ihnen einen Hefekuchen mit Zimt und Zucker machen.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Marina Apud Schneider in front of artwork at Galerie mutare - -c- Galerie Mutare

Marina Apud Schneider vor einem ihrer Werke in der Galerie mutare, Berlin

Was isst Du am liebsten? Was ich am liebsten esse, sind Süssichkeiten: Gebäck, Kuchen, Kekse, Desserts, würzige Dinge… Ich hatte das Glück, mit einer Mutter mit ausgezeichnetem Gaumen und gutem Geschmack aufzuwachsen, also liebe ich gutes Essen, sowohl im Rohmaterial als auch in der Zubereitung. Was hältst Du vom Frühstücken? Das Frühstück war mir nie etwas Wichtiges. Im Gegenteil, wenn ich morgens etwas esse, dann fühle ich mich nicht gut. Das einzige, was ich morgens konsumiere, ist Mate (eine typisch Argentinische Infusion) und Vormittags etwas Obst. Welchen Sport oder Ausgleich zu Deiner Arbeit betreibst Du? Da ich viele Stunden im Sitzen oder Stillstand beim Malen verbringe, versuche ich in den Momenten, in denen ich nicht male, zu gehen. Ich laufe viel, normalerweise in einem flotten Tempo. Genieße auch, den Körper zu dehnen, Yoga-Haltungen zu improvisieren oder andere, die intuitiv entstehen, um Muskeln und Gelenke zu lockern. Hast Du besondere Leidenschaften, für die Du brennst, und wenn ja welche? Ich koche und singe sehr gerne; Musik ist etwas, das mich schreiend ruft. Auch Sprachen lernen und schreiben.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Marina Apud Schneider - Atelier Marina-min

Blick ins Atelier

Welches Persönlichkeitsmerkmal macht Dich aus? Glaube nicht, dass ich irgendwelchen Stereotypen entspreche. Vielleicht ein bisschen Einsiedlerin. Ich habe mein Standpunkt immer anders wahrgenommen als andere. Ich bin eine stille Beobachterin von Mensch und Natur, eine große Bewunderin des Lebens. Hast Du ein Anliegen, das Du mit uns teilen möchten oder eine (nicht gestellte) Frage, auf die Du gerne eine Antwort geben möchtest? Ich habe die Frage, aber nicht die Antwort.: Warum bestehen wir darauf, das Leben betäubt zu “leben”, eingetaucht in Frivolitäten, in Konsumismus (visuell, auditiv, mental …), der uns berauscht und uns wie tot und schlafend hält, und wir wagen es nicht, in tiefen Kontakt mit dem Wahren unseres Wesen einzutreten; von dem einzigen Punkt aus, von dem wir vollständig und wahrhaftig leben können?

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Marina Apud Schneider - Portrait

Marina Apud Schneider

INTERVIEW | KÜNSTLER + POSITION

Zu Beginn erzähle uns bitte in ein paar Sätzen Deine künstlerische Vita.

Ich habe mich immer dadurch charakterisiert, dass ich ein sehr inneres Universum habe, und bemühtete mich nicht es auszudrücken, zu externalisieren, zu zeigen. Daher beschränkt sich meine künstlerische Vita auf einige sporadische Ausstellungen in Argentinien und kaum die Teilnahme an Kunst-wettbewerben. Ich glaube, erst seit Coronavirus begann ich zu spüren, den starken Impuls mein Werk zu zeigen.

Erläutere uns kurz Dein aktuelles Projekt bzw. die kommende Ausstellung.

Im Moment stelle ich meine in den letzten drei Jahren entstandenen Werke in der Galerie Mutare in Berlin aus. Aus dem, was dort erzeugt wird, werde ich sehen, was als nächstes geboren wird.

Worüber machst Du Dir zurzeit am meisten Gedanken; was beschäftigt Dich?

Womit ich es in meinem Kopf beschäftige, ist tatsächlich das unkontrollierte mentale Geschwätz des Denkens zu stoppen, um den kontemplativen Zustand hervorzurufen, einen Zustand, den ich für förderlich für den kreativen Prozess halte.

Wie bist Du zur Kunst gekommen? Warum Kunst?

Ich habe im Alter von 11 Jahren mich intensiver für die Malerei interessiert. Mein erstes Lieblingsmaler war Caravaggio. Es faszinierte mich seine Malerei in Kunstbüchern zu betrachten. Ich erinnere mich an den “Tod der Jungfrau”, wo ein riesiges rotes Tuch hängt das mich bezauberte und es immer wieder anschaute. Dieses Tuch wurde eines der ersten Dinge, die mich am meisten zum Malen inspiriert haben. Sogar versuchte ich es so originalgetreu wie möglich mit Acryl auf Papier zu kopieren. Andere Sachen, die mich immer geblendet haben, war das stille Licht von Rembrandt, die mystischen Stillleben von Zurbarán, das extrem barocke Hell-Dunkel von José de Ribera, die Häute von Velazquez, die seltsamen Blumen, die aus der Schwärze der Niederländerin Rachel Ruysch hervorliegen und  so viele andere, die das selbe Licht und die selbe Dunkelheit in der selben Zeit und Ort teilten. Sie alle waren große Erwecker meines Wunsches zu malen. Mit 12 bat ich meine Eltern, mich im Atelier von Marcelo De Angelis zu schicken, einem ausgezeichneter Maler, mit dem wir uns sofort ohne viele Worte verstanden. Kunst scheint mir, dass sie sich aus dem Unbewussten heraus anpasst und heilt. Es ist eine direkte Verbindung zum Mysterium des Lebens.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Marina Apud Schneider - David - 50 x 60 cm - 2019-min

Marina Apud Schneider, 50 x 60 cm, 2019, 4000 EUR

Was macht Dich aktuell glücklich?

Was mich in diesem Moment glücklich macht, ist zu wissen, dass die Schichten die mich bedecken, diese Schichten, die das Wesen verschleiern, einer nach dem anderen fallen und das Leben, das ich bin, dass wir alle sind, sich mehr und mehr manifestiert.

Was macht Dir aktuell Angst?

Ich glaube ich könnte nicht sagen, dass mir etwas Angst macht. Ja, es gibt Zustände, in denen ich nicht verfallen möchte, wie das Einschläfern,  sowohl körperliche, mental oder geistigweise. Nicht wagemutig sein, nicht unvertrauend, niemals Bewustlosigkeit verewingen, nicht glauben, dass das Leben darin besteht, es in Freude und Fülle zu leben und nicht eine quälende Anstrengung nach der anderen ist.

Glaubt Du, dass Kunst eine gesellschaftliche Verantwortung trägt? Und was denkst Du, was sie bewirken kann?

Ich denke, es sei sehr gut für die Menschen, wenn Kunst in der Gesellschaft präsenter wäre. Das unser Alltag  von untererscheidlichen Kunstformen durchdrungen ist um damit, auf den Strassen, in den Schulen, überall mehr Bedeutung zu bekommen. Ich denke, dass Ästhetik die Seele aufwertet, sie ist wie ein Stärkungsmittel für die Menschheit; wer staunt sich nicht über eine Skulptur in einem Park, die Arbeit eines Schreiners an einer Tür, die verlockende Töne der Saiten einer Geige, die in der U-Bahn vibrieren, ein Gemälde in einem Wartezimmer… es sind kleine heilige Momente der direkten Verbindung mit dem Selbst. Verbindung, die ich als sehr heilsam für die Menschen, also für die Gesellschaft finde.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Marina Apud Schneider - Fruechte - 90 x 70 cm - 2021-min

Marina Apud Schneider, 90 x 70 cm, 2021, 6000 EUR

Was macht Deine Kunst aus? Worum geht es in Deinem Werk – was sind die zentralen Themen?

Meine Malerei ist ein Rückkehr zur Aufwertung des Wesentlichen, zur Einfachheit. Eine Tür, die sich durch die Betrachtung des realistischen Bildes öffnet, ohne Vorurteile oder Adjektive, um in jene Dimension einzutreten, die meiner Meinung nach, die wirklich Real ist. 

Lesen Sie die Antwort von Marina Apud Schneider zu ihrem Werk weiter in THE DEED | DAS WERK .

Wie schützt Du Dich in der heutigen Zeit vor zu viel Inspiration?

Ich denke im Gegenteil, Inspiration ist das was heute selten gibt. Vielleicht meinst Du “Information” und “Einfluss”. Das ist im Übermaß vorhanden. Meiner meinung nach, kommt Inspiration von innen nach außen, von unserem Sein, dass die kreative Quelle ist. Heutzutage scheint es mir dass Inspiration knapp ist, weil wir ständig mit Informationen und Einflüsse bombardiert sind, die beide kommen von außen nach innen und sind nur Lärm der  uns nicht erlaubt, mit unserer echten kreativen Kraft in Kontakt zu kommen Die Kraft die aus der inneren Stille entspringt, die im kreativen Prozess unentbehrlich ist. Als Gegenmittel zu allem was uns die Inspiration betäubt, halte ich für sehr nützlich, die Rationierung der Nutzung elektronischer Geräte, das Vermeiden der Nachrichten, weniger Radios oder Fernseher benutzen und so ein hochwertiger Konsum erlangen, in jeder Hinsicht: dem Film, den ich sehen möchte, den Gesprächen, die ich beschließe zu haben, den Gedanken, die  ich erlaube  in meinen Gedanken zu verewigen,  in Kontakt zu der Natur sein, kontemplative Praktiken durchführen usw. Kurz gesagt, die Wahl gesunde Gewohnheiten wählen in anstelle von toxischen Einflüsse, die das Keimen von Kreativität und Inspiration blockieren.

Wie viel in Deinen Arbeiten ist vorher geplant – wie viel entsteht intuitiv?

Ich denke, dass in meine Arbeit Intuitiv ist. Die Motive, die ich wähle, wie ich sie verorte, wo und mit welcher Beleuchtung… all dies entsteht ohne rationale Erklärung. Ich habe das Gefühl, dass alles intuitiv entsteht, dass das intuitive die Konnektion mit der Quelle ist. Quelle, aus der alle Schöpfung stammt.  

Was sind Deine (nächsten) Ziele?

Ich beabsichtige, mehr meine Arbeit zu zeigen und mit meiner Arbeit die Aufwertung der realistischen Malerei beizutragen und auch immer mehr in meine eigene Ästhetik einzutauchen.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Marina Apud Schneider - Fuchsschaedel

Marina Apud Schneider, Fuchsschädel, 116 x 97 cm

Wie stehst Du zum Thema Glauben? Hast Du Glaubensgrundsätze oder gibt es einen Leitspruch?

Nun, das ist ein Thema, auf das ich viel eingehen würde und bei dem man sehr vorsichtig sein muss, weil die Wörter in jeder Sprache und sogar in jeder Person eine andere Konnotation haben, so dass es viel Raum für Fehlinterpretationen gibt. Aber ganz kurz werde ich sagen, dass ich Religionen sehr schätze und viel Interess an mir wecken. Ich denke nicht, dass sie notwendigerweise unverzichtbar für die Fülle des Geistes in einer Person sind, aber es scheint mir, dass sie wie Codes und Symbolen sind, die man im Laufe des Lebens entschlüsseln und ihre Botschaft verstehen kann. Aber gleichzeitig können diese Codes leider falsch interpretiert werden und Religionen können als Überzeugungen verstanden werden, die uns unterscheiden und uns von anderen trennen, die zu einem anderen Glauben gehören, der anderen der sich von uns unterscheidet. Dann stellt sich heraus, dass diese Religion oder Glaube, der der Weg zum Geist sein sollte, der Punkt, an dem wir mit allen Eins sind, uns trennt, uns unterscheidet und uns sogar mit dem anderen konfrontiert, daher geschieht das Gegenteil mit seinem wahren Ende, die Bedingungslosigkeit, die Vereinigung, die Liebe.

Welches Projekt würdest Du gerne noch realisieren, wenn fehlende Zeit, mangelnder Mut oder finanzielle Ressourcen keine Rolle spielen würden?

Etwas, das ich bald tun möchte, ist, mein Zuhause und mein Atelier in einem Wald zu haben, einem Ort inmitten der Natur, an dem ich mich tief der Kontemplation, der Stille widmen und mich daher mehr in die Malerei und die Entwicklung meiner Arbeit aus tieferen  Schichten des Seins vertiefen.


Was sind aus Ihrer Sicht Attribute für gute Kunst?

Ich glaube, dass wir in eine Periode der Kunst eintreten, in der die technische Beherrschung des antiken Realismus mit dem unbewussten spontanen Impuls der Abstraktion der jüngsten Zeit in Einklang gebracht wird. Die Aufwertung und Vereinigung dieser beiden Extreme ist meiner Meinung nach die Virtuosität in der Kunst.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Marina Apud Schneider - Artischocken 100 x 81 cm-min

Marina Apud Schneider, 100 x 81 cm

Wird man als Künstler*in geboren? Oder ist ein Kunststudium Pflicht?

Ich denke, man wird mit dem Impuls geboren, eine bestimmte Aktivität auszuführen, und findet man es sicherlich einfacher, es zu tun als andere Menschen. Aber man muss nicht da bleiben, sondern weiter entwickeln, es mit Übung perfektionieren; akademisch oder nicht, das hängt von jedem ab. In meinem Fall war das Lernen besser auf mich allein gestellt und was ich verstehe, ist sehr wichtig, man muss sich als Person entwickeln, in die Tiefen seiner selbst eintauchen, mit dem Geist, mit dem Leben in Kontakt kommen. Man könnte das ganzes Leben damit verbringen, zu praktizieren, zu studieren usw., aber wenn es nicht gleichzeitig ein inneres Wachstum und eine Reife gäbe, wird die Arbeit widerspiegeln, was wir sind: eine oberflächliche, frivole, lauwarme, unreife, leere Arbeit…

Wem zeigst Du ein neues Werk zuerst?

An meinen Lebenspartner, meinen Mann.

Wie sieht die erste Stunde Deines Tages aus?

In der ersten halben Stunde gehe ich auf die Toilette, putze mir die Zähne, bereite die Sandwitches für meine Kinder für die Schule vor und  mein Mate. Die nächste halbe Stunde sitze ich draußen, um den Mate zu trinken und die Berge zu betrachten, um die traumhaften Bilder wahrzunehmen, die von der Nacht übrig bleiben, um Symbolismus zu entschlüsseln, der zu Beginn des Tages auftaucht.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Marina Apud Schneider - Exhibition view Galerie mutare - -c- Galerie Mutare-min

Ausstellungsansicht Galerie mutare, Berlin im März/April 2022

Sind im Zeitalter des Internets der Dinge Galerien noch notwendig? Wenn ja, warum und wofür?

Ich denke, Galerien sind sehr notwendig. Im Internet können wir die Arbeit vieler Künstler kennenlernen und das ist sehr gut, aber ich denke, dass es einen enormen Wert hat, physisch vor einem Werk und vielleicht auch vor demjenigen zu stehen, der es ausgeführt hat. Ich denke, Galerien sollten viel Unterstützung von Regierungen bekommen, das wäre eine weitere Möglichkeit, Kunst zu fördern.

Social-Media – Segen oder Fluch?

Ich denke, Social-Media ist ein sehr gutes Werkzeug. Sie dienen zum Beispiel als Schaufenster, um zu zeigen, was wir tun und um zu wissen, was andere Künstler machen. Aber ich denke, es ist wichtig, sich daran zu erinnern, dass es genau das ist: ein weiteres Instrument, um unsere Arbeit zu verbreiten und ihr nicht so viel Zeit und Bedeutung zu geben. Heutzutage ist dies meine Vision von sozialen Netzwerken, vielleicht werde ich zu einem anderen Zeitpunkt in meinem Leben einfach auf sie verzichten.

EPILOG | AKTUELLES

Die Ausstellung mit Malerei von Marina Apud Schneider, zusammen mit Objekten des Skulpteurs Hinrich Kröger, ist vom 5. März bis 23. April 2022 in der Galerie mutare, Giesebrechtstraße 12, 10629 Berlin-Charlottenburg zu sehen.

www.instagram.com/marinaapud

www.facebook.com/marinaapud


Das schriftliche Interview ist ein wichtiges Medium, um Künstler:innenpersönlichkeiten vorzustellen, ihre Botschaften zu verbreiten und mit Kunstliebhaber:innen in Kontakt zu treten. Die Interviews werden von unserer Redaktion nicht redigiert oder gekürzt und stets im O-Ton wiedergegeben. Daher nehmen wir auch keine Übersetzung des Interviews in Englische bzw. Deutsche vor, es sei denn, diese wird seitens des/der Interviewten eingereicht.

This post is also available in: English

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.