THE INTERVIEW IN|DEEDS: Bodo Korsig | Galerie Schmalfuss Berlin

PROLOGUE | PERSONAL

Bodo, where do we talk together, where do we meet you? We sit in my light-flooded studio with skylights and a room height of 6 metres, directly on the Moselle. Maybe we are sitting at your favorite place? My absolute favourite place is my old couch in the studio. I often sit here with friends and drink wine. Where do you come from, where were you born, when? I was born on 24.03.1962 in Zwickau. How and where do you currently live and work? I have been commuting between Trier and NY since 1995, although my stays in NY are becoming less and less frequent. I have found my centre in Trier. Which stations and people have shaped you? Shortly after the fall of the Berlin Wall, I decided to live in London. A bold plan. It failed miserably at first. In 1992 I decided to move to NY, and in 1995 the time had come. The city blew me away, and so did the people there. The generosity, openness and friendliness of the people in America, especially in the art scene. You have to experience something like that to believe it. Everything was possible and I found myself in the middle of it. Was welcomed with open arms. Through Garner Tullis, who was indeed a legend in NY at the time, I suddenly had contact with great artists such as Robert Ryman, Sean Scully, Catherine Lee. Even curators, writers and musicians. That inspired and spurred me on. Countless people and work stays later in America, eventually even in Asia and Africa, have shaped my life and made me who I am today. To list everything would go beyond the scope of this article.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Bodo Korsig - Portrait

Bodo Korsig, Portrait

Which writers do you currently find exciting and which books are on your bookshelf?  My shelves are packed with books. Books are extremely important to me. I’ve worked with over 40 writers on artist’s books and videos, including Paul Auster, John Ashbery, Akira Tatehata and Peter Wawerzinek, which I find super exciting. Which books have influenced or shaped you? Incredibly many! Two books by Max Frisch were particularly influential: “Mein Name sei Gantenbein” and “Stiller”, which I read as a teenager. What are you currently reading and where do you keep the book? On my desk right now is Catherina Rust: The Girl from the Amazon. It touches me very much, because I had encounters with indigenous people in the Brazilian rainforest myself that left their mark on me. What music do you listen to and when? In the studio I like to listen to minimalist electronic music by Philipp Glass, Arvo Part or Steve Reich, among others. If you would cook something for us, what would it be? Actually, I am passionate about good food and I leave a lot of money in restaurants. But personally, I don’t enjoy cooking very much. I’m too impatient for that. Above all, it has to be quick, so it’s just salad and a pasta with porcini mushrooms.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Bodo Korsig - Portrait with artwork

Bodo Korsig in front of his work (no)roots, 2019, Filz, ø 4 Meter

What do you like to eat most? Sashimi What do you think about breakfast? For me it’s just a cappuccino and a fruit salad, that has to be enough. What kind of sport or counterbalance to your work do you practice? Wing Chun, a martial art from Asia that I like very much. Do you have special passions (hobbies) for which you are burning, and if so, which ones? For the past 30 years, whenever I have the opportunity, I have mainly gone diving in Asia. I love this paradisiacal state under water, this calm, the floating in the element, the colours, the shaping of the corals and animals. And of course the adrenaline rush of cave diving. What personality trait defines you? Inwardly, I am an adrenaline junkie. Otherwise, and especially outwardly, I am usually balanced and calm, but unfortunately I am and remain a bit impatient most of the time. Do you have a concern that you would like to share with us or a question (not asked) that you would like to answer? No, none at the moment, maybe I can think of something else.

DEEDS WORLD - Artist Interview Bodo Korsig - Studio_3

Bodo Korsig in his Studio

INTERVIEW | ARTIST + POSITION

To begin, please tell us about your artistic vita in a few sentences.

After my studies, I was drawn to the world. Fortunately, I received numerous prizes and scholarships. This encouraged me to do what I wanted. First and foremost, I worked on large-format woodcuts and monotypes that I printed with the help of a road roller.

For over 20 years I have been increasingly involved with spatial installations, objects and video art.

But what most people don’t know is that book art is also an important part of my artistic work. I have realised important book projects together with Paul Auster from NY, Akira Tatehata from Tokyo, Zao Zhang from Beijing, Scardanelli from Berlin and many others. The books were written on a predefined current topic. The condition was always that the text had not yet been published by the author – and that it was a reflection of contemporary history.

For each book, a different, elaborate and very individual book form was developed. These books were mostly created on site, together with the respective poet, who handwrote the texts according to my artistic ideas. 

DEEDS.WORLD - INTERVIEW - Bodo Korsig - Exhibition view 6

Bodo Korsig, MAGNOLIA, 2008, handwritten text by Zao Zhang, Acrylic painting on wood, 80 x 80 x 980 cm, Unique Chinese/German

There have also been countless collaborations with musicians, dancers and theatre productions.

Museum exhibitions followed, among others at the Leonardimuseum in Dresden (Germany), Fukumitsu Art Museum, (Japan), Smart Museum of Art Chicaco (USA), Arp Museum Bahnhof Rolandseck, (Germany), as well as at the ZKM Karlsruhe (Germany).

Erläutern Sie uns kurz Ihr aktuelles Projekt bzw. die kommende Ausstellung.

Next week at the Dakar Biennale, I will be presenting a three-part video installation. It is called “Arrival” and it is a silent indictment of humanity, with beautiful images that confront, above all, our mendacious environmental policies. In this video, the poetry of the Berlin writer Scardanelli is spoken by the Munich opera singer Bonko Karadjov, and the sound comes from the Frankfurt composer Julia Mihaly.

What are you currently most concerned about; what is on your mind?

I am angry about the brutal greed for power and corruption of some companies and politicians. And about how we all stand by and watch.

DEEDS WORLD - Artist Interview Bodo Korsig - Studio_2

Bodo Korsig in his Atelier

How did you come to art? Why art?

It was my way of expressing myself and what moves me. There was no alternative for me.

What makes you happy at the moment?

The most recent successful and completed work of art is a distinct feeling of happiness, but unfortunately it is short-lived.  Apart from that, I am water-addicted. I love the water. Whether I’m by, in or on the water, I lose myself in and around water and recharge my happiness hormones there.

What is currently scaring you?

The ignorance and greed of people, especially the way they deal with our world’s resources and these completely senseless wars. 

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Bodo Korsig - Exhibition view 4

„lost in paradise“, 2022, Exhibition view, Galerie Schmalfuss Berlin

Do you believe that art has a social responsibility? And what do you think it can do?

Absolutely! Art gives us artists the opportunity to hold up a mirror to the viewer. Through this medium, I can reach the viewer in the best case and sometimes even shake him up.

What makes your art special? What is it about – what are the central themes of your work?

A basic feature or rather a basic characteristic of my work is the deconstruction of motifs, themes and things into symbols; into an abstracted world of forms.

I reduce my artistic work to the essential. In doing so, I alienate reality. Through optical changes, I cross the line of the usual, the adapted, the customary, in order to leave the viewer a scope of inspiration. 

Read Bodo Korsig´s answer about his work further in THE DEED | DAS WERK.

DEEDS WORLD - Artist Interview Bodo Korsig - Studio_4

Bodo Korsig in his Atelier

How do you protect yourself from too much inspiration these days?

Through complete isolation.

How much in your works is planned beforehand – how much is created intuitively?

When I’m in my studio, the works are actually already finished in my head.

What are your (next) goals?

I present a video installation at the Dakar Biennale, followed by exhibition projects in Slovenia, Austria and Latvia.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Bodo Korsig - Exhibition view 1

„window of the mind“, 2018, Felt, je 130 x 150 cm

What is your opinion about faith? Do you have principles of faith or is there a motto?

I am not a believer, my religion is my inner self. I listen to that and it guides me. But that also means that if I am unsatisfied with myself, only I can change something. I always try to be fair, friendly and open to my fellow human beings, and most of the time, without expecting it, I get the same in return.

Which project would you still like to realize, if lack of time, courage or financial resources would not play a role?

A feature film!

What do you consider to be attributes of good art?

If the work touches me and maybe even changes me.

DEEDS WORLD - Artist Interview Bodo Korsig - Studio_5

Bodo Korsig in his Atelier

Is one born as an artist? Or is studying art compulsory in your view?

An art degree is definitely helpful and makes a lot of things easier in the beginning.

To whom do you show a new work first?

No one for a long time.

What does the first hour of your day look like?

Cappuccino + fruit salad + reading

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Bodo Korsig - Exhibition view 2

To Define is to Limit 2019, Felt , 250 x 160 cm (right), no)roots,  2019, Diameter 4 Meter, Felt (left)

In times of the internet of things, are galleries still necessary? If so, why and what for?

You can’t do it without galleries, it’s a kind of symbiosis. We artists need the galleries and of course the gallery owners need the artists.

Social media – a blessing or a curse?

An interesting platform to share the latest exhibition projects or works with a globally interested audience.

EPILOGUE | CURRENT

The exhibition lost in paradise with objects, drawings and installations by Bodo Korsig can be seen from 23. April to 21. May 2022 at GALERIE SCHMALFUSS BERLIN, Knesebeckstraße 96, 10623 Berlin-Charlottenburg.

Furthermore, his work “no excuses” will be presented at CSR CONTEMPORARY SHOW ROOM, Friedrichstraße 69, 10117 Berlin-Mitte from 25. April to 21. May 2022.

www.korsig.com

www.instagram.com/bodokorsig

www.facebook.com/KorsigStudio-152110594833230


The written interview is an important medium to introduce artists, to spread their messages and to get in touch with art lovers. The interviews are not edited or shortened by our editorial team and are always reproduced in original sound. Therefore, we do not translate the interview into English or German, unless the interviewee submits a translation or we are entrusted with the translation, as is the case here.

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

THE INTERVIEW IN|DEEDS: Bodo Korsig | Galerie Schmalfuss Berlin

PROLOG | PERSÖNLICHES

Bodo, wo sprechen wir zusammen, wo treffen wir Dich? Wir sitzen in meinem lichtdurchfluteten Studio mit Oberlicht und einer Raumhöhe von 6 Meter, direkt and der Mosel. Vielleicht sitzen wir an Deinem Lieblingsplatz? Mein absoluter Lieblingsplatz ist meine alte Couch im Studio. Hier sitze ich ziemlich oft mit Freunden und trinke Wein. Woher kommst Du, wo bist Du wann geboren? Ich wurde am 24.03.1962 in Zwickau geboren. Wo lebst und arbeitest Du derzeit? Seit 1995 pendele ich zwischen Trier und NY, wobei die Aufenthalte in NY inzwischen immer seltener werden. In Trier habe ich meine Mitte gefunden. Welche Stationen und Menschen haben Dich geprägt? Kurz nach der Wende habe ich mich zunächst entschieden in London zu leben. Ein kühner Plan. Damit bin zunächst einmal kläglich gescheitert. 1992 habe ich beschlossen nach NY zu ziehen, 1995 war es dann so weit. Die Stadt hat mich umgehauen, die Menschen dort ebenfalls. Diese Großzügigkeit, Offenheit, Freundlichkeit der Leute in Amerika; insbesondere in der Kunstszene. So etwas muss man erleben, um es zu glauben. Alles war möglich und ich befand mich mitten drin. Wurde mit offenen Armen empfangen. Durch Garner Tullis, der damals in NY tatsächlich eine Legende war, hatte ich auf einmal Kontakt zu großartigen Künstlern wie beispielsweise zu Robert Ryman, Sean Scully, Catherine Lee. Sogar zu Kuratoren, Schriftstellern und Musikern. Das hat mich inspiriert und angespornt. Unzählige Menschen und Arbeitsaufenthalte später in Amerika, schließlich sogar in Asien und Afrika haben mein Leben geprägt und mich zu jenem gemacht, der ich heute bin. Alles aufzuzählen würde den Rahmen jetzt aber sprengen.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Bodo Korsig - Portrait

Bodo Korsig, Portrait

Welche Schriftsteller*innen findest Du derzeit spannend und welche Bücher finden sich in Deinem Bücherregal?  Meine Regale sind vollgepackt mit Büchern. Bücher sind extrem wichtig für mich. Mit über 40 Schriftstellern habe ich insgesamt an Künstlerbüchern und Videos gearbeitet; u.a. mit Paul Auster, John Ashbery, Akira Tatehata und Peter Wawerzinek, das finde ich natürlich super spannend. Welche Bücher haben Dich beeinflusst oder geprägt? Unglaublich viele! Besonders einprägend waren insbesondere zwei Bücher von Max Frisch: „Mein Name sei Gantenbein“ und „ Stiller“, die ich schon als Jugendlicher las. Was liest Du aktuell und wo liegt das Buch griffbereit? Auf meinem Schreibtisch liegt gerade: Catherina Rust: Das Mädchen vom Amazonas. Das berührt mich sehr, denn ich hatte selber Begegnungen mit Indigenen im Brasilianischen Regenwald, die mich geprägt haben. Welche Musik hörst Du und wann? Im Studio höre ich gerne minimalistische elektronische Musik, u.a. von Philipp Glass, Arvo Part oder Steve Reich. Wenn Du etwas für uns kochen würdest, was wäre es? Tatsächlich gehe ich leidenschaftlich gerne gut essen und ich lasse viel Geld in Restaurants. Aber persönlich habe ich nur wenig Freunde am Kochen. Dafür bin ich zu ungeduldig. Es muss vor allem schnell gehen, da gibt es nur Salat und eine Pasta mit Steinpilzen.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Bodo Korsig - Portrait with artwork

Bodo Korsig vor dem Werk (no)roots, 2019, Filz, ø 4 Meter

Was isst Du am liebsten? Sashimi Was hältst Du vom Frühstücken? Für mich gibt´s nur einen Cappuccino und einen Obstsalat, das muss reichen. Welchen Sport oder Ausgleich zu Deiner Arbeit betreibest Du? Wing Chun, eine Kampfkunst aus Asien, die ich sehr schätze. Hast Du besondere Leidenschaften, für die Du brennst, und wenn ja welche? Seit rund 30 Jahren gehe ich, wann immer sich die Möglichkeit dazu ergibt hauptsächlich in Asien tauchen. Ich liebe diesen paradiesischen Zustand unter Wasser, diese Ruhe, das Schweben im Element, die Farben, die Formgebung der Korallen und Tiere. Natürlich auch den Adrenalinschub beim Höhlentauchen. Welches Persönlichkeitsmerkmal macht Dich aus? Innerlich bin ich ein Adrenalinjunkie. Ansonsten und vor allem nach außen hin bin ich meist ausgeglichen und ruhig, dennoch bin und bleibe ich leider auch meist etwas ungeduldig. Hast Du ein Anliegen, das Du mit uns teilen möchtest oder eine (nicht gestellte) Frage, auf die Du gerne eine Antwort geben möchtest? Nein, im Moment keines, vielleicht fällt mir noch etwas ein.

DEEDS WORLD - Artist Interview Bodo Korsig - Studio_3

Bodo Korsig in seinem Studio

INTERVIEW | KÜNSTLER + POSITION

Zu Beginn erzähle uns bitte in ein paar Sätzen Deine künstlerische Vita.

Nach meinem Studium zog es mich in die Welt. Glücklicherweise erhielt ich zahlreiche Preise und Stipendien. Das bestärkte mich das zu machen, was ich wollte. Vor allem arbeitete ich zunächst an großformatigen Holzschnitten und Monotypien die ich mit Hilfe einer Strassenwalze druckte.

Seit über 20 Jahren beschäftigte ich mich verstärkt mit räumlichen Installationen, Objekten und Videokunst.

Was die meisten Leute aber nicht wissen; Ein wichtiger Bestandteil meines künstlerischen Schaffens ist aber auch der Bereich Buchkunst. Bedeutende Buchprojekte realisierte ich zusammen mit Paul Auster aus NY, Akira Tatehata aus Tokio, Zao Zhang aus Peking, Scardanelli aus Berlin und vielen anderen. Die Bücher entstanden zu einer zuvor festgelegten aktuellen Thematik. Bedingung war immer, dass der Text vom Autor noch nicht veröffentlicht wurde – und, dass er eine Reflexion der Zeitgeschichte ist.

DEEDS.WORLD - INTERVIEW - Bodo Korsig - Exhibition view 6

Bodo Korsig, MAGNOLIA, 2008, handgeschriebener Text von Zao Zhang,
Acrylmalerei auf Holz, 80 x 80 x 980 cm, Unique Chinese/German

Für jedes Buch wurde eine andere, aufwendige und sehr individuelle Buchform entwickelt. Diese Bücher entstanden meistens vor Ort, zusammen mit dem jeweiligen Lyriker, welcher die Texte handschriftlich nach meinen künstlerischen Vorstellungen, verfasste. 

Außerdem gab es unzählige Kooperationen mit Musikern, Tänzern und Theaterproduktionen.

Es folgten Museumsausstellungen unter anderen im Leonardimuseum in Dresden (Deutschland), Fukumitsu Art Museum, (Japan), Smart Museum of Art Chicaco (USA), Arp Museum Bahnhof Rolandseck, (Deutschland), wie auch im ZKM Karlsruhe (Deutschland).

Erläutern Sie uns kurz Ihr aktuelles Projekt bzw. die kommende Ausstellung.

In der kommenden Woche präsentiere ich bei der Dakar Biennale eine dreiteilige Videoinstallation. Sie heißt „Arrival“ und es handelt sich um eine stumme Anklage der Menschheit, die mit wunderschönen Bildern, die vor allem unsere verlogene Umweltpolitik konfrontiert. In diesem Video wird die Lyrik des Berliner Schriftsteller Scardanelli, von dem Münchner Opernsänger Bonko Karadjov gesprochen, der Sound kommt von der Frankfurter Komponistin Julia Mihaly.

Worüber machst Du Dir zurzeit am meisten Gedanken; was beschäftigt Dich?

Ich rege mich über die brutale Machtgier und Korruption von einigen Unternehmen und von Politikern auf. Und darüber, wie wir alle dabei zuschauen.

DEEDS WORLD - Artist Interview Bodo Korsig - Studio_2

Bodo Korsig in seinem Atelier

Wie bist Du zur Kunst gekommen? Warum Kunst?

Es war mein Weg, mich und das was mich bewegt ausdrücken. Für mich gab es keine Alternative.

Was macht Dich aktuell glücklich? 

Das zuletzt gelungene und fertiggestellte Kunstwerk ist ein ausgesprochenes Glücksgefühl, leider ist das nur von kurzer Dauer.  Ansonsten bin ich Wasseradicted. Ich liebe das Wasser. Ganz gleich, ob am, im oder auf dem Wasser, ich verliere mich in und am Wasser und lade dort meine Glückshormone auf.

Was macht Dir aktuell Angst?

Die Ignoranz und Gier der Menschen, vor allem, wie Sie mit unseren Ressourcen der Welt umgehen und diese vollkommen sinnlos geführten Kriege. 

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Bodo Korsig - Exhibition view 4

„lost in paradise“, 2022, Ausstellungsansicht, Galerie Schmalfuss Berlin

Glaubst Du, dass Kunst eine gesellschaftliche Verantwortung trägt? Und was denkst Du, was sie bewirken kann?

Auf jeden Fall! Die Kunst gibt uns Künstlern die Möglichkeit, dem Betrachter einen Spiegel vorzuhalten. Durch dieses Medium kann ich den Betrachter im besten Falle erreichen und manchmal sogar wachrütteln.

Was macht Deine Kunst aus? Worum geht es in Deinem Werk – was sind die zentralen Themen? 

Ein Grundzug oder besser gesagt eine Grundeigenschaft meines Schaffens ist die Dekonstruktion von Motiven, Themen und Dingen zu Symbolen; zu einer abstrahierten Formenwelt.

Meine künstlerische Arbeit reduziere ich auf das Wesentliche. Dadurch entfremde ich die Realität. Durch optische Veränderungen überschreite ich die  Linie des Gewohnten, des Angepassten, des Üblichen,  um dem Betrachter einen Spielraum von Inspirationen zu lassen. 

Lesen Sie die Antwort von Bodo Korsig zu seinem Werk weiter in THE DEED | DAS WERK.

DEEDS WORLD - Artist Interview Bodo Korsig - Studio_4

Bodo Korsig in seinem Atelier

Wie schützt Du Dich in der heutigen Zeit vor zu viel Inspiration?

Durch vollkommene Isolation.

Wie viel in Deinen Arbeiten ist vorher geplant – wie viel entsteht intuitiv?

Wenn ich in meinem Studio bin, sind die Arbeiten in meinem Kopf eigentlich schon fertig.

Was sind Deine (nächsten) Ziele?

Ich präsentiere eine Videoinstallation auf der Dakar Biennale, anschließend folgen  Ausstellungsprojekte in Slovenien, Österreich und Lettland.

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Bodo Korsig - Exhibition view 1

„window of the mind“, 2018, Filz, je 130 x 150 cm

Wie stehst Du zum Thema Glauben? Hast Du Glaubensgrundsätze oder gibt es einen Leitspruch? 

Ich bin nicht gläubig, meine Religion ist mein inneres Ich. Darauf höre ich, das führt mich. Das heißt aber auch, wenn ich mit mir selber unzufrieden bin, kann nur ich etwas verändern. Ich bemühe mich immer, zu meinen Mitmenschen fair, freundlich, offen zu sein und die meiste Zeit hab ich; ohne es zu erwarten, das gleiche irgendwann zurück bekommen.

Welches Projekt würdest Du gerne noch realisieren, wenn fehlende Zeit, mangelnder Mut oder finanzielle Ressourcen keine Rolle spielen würden?

Einen Spielfilm!

Was sind aus Deiner Sicht Attribute für gute Kunst?

Wenn das Werk mich bewegt und vielleicht sogar verändert.

DEEDS WORLD - Artist Interview Bodo Korsig - Studio_5

Bodo Korsig in seinem Atelier

Wird man als Künstler*in geboren? Oder ist ein Kunststudium aus Deiner Sicht Pflicht?

Ein Kunststudium ist auf jeden Fall hilfreich und macht in der Anfangsphase vieles einfacher.

Wem zeigst Du ein neues Werk zuerst?

Lange Zeit niemanden.

Wie sieht die erste Stunde Deines Tages aus?

Cappuccino + Obstsalat + Lesen

DEEDS WORLD - Interview Bodo Korsig - Exhibition view 2

To Define is to Limit 2019, Filz, 250 x 160 cm (rechts),
(no)roots,  2019, Diameter 4 Meter, Filz (links)

Sind im Zeitalter des Internets der Dinge Galerien noch notwendig? Wenn ja, warum und wofür?

Ohne Galerien geht es nicht, es handelt sich um ein Art von Symbiose. Wir Künstler benötigen die Galerien und die Galeristen brauchen natürlich auch die Künstler.

Social-Media – aus Deiner Sicht Segen oder Fluch?

Eine interessante Plattform, um ein weltweit interessiertes Publikum an den neuesten  Ausstellungsprojekten bzw. Werken teilhaben zu lassen.

EPILOG | AKTUELLES

Die Ausstellung lost in paradise mit Objekten, Zeichnungen und Installationen von Bodo Korsig ist vom 23. April bis 21. Mai 2022 in der GALERIE SCHMALFUSS BERLIN, Knesebeckstraße 96, 10623 Berlin-Charlottenburg zu sehen.

Zudem wird seine Arbeit “no excuses” vom 25. April bis zum 21. Mai 2022 im CSR CONTEMPORARY SHOW ROOM, Friedrichstraße 69, 10117 Berlin-Mitte präsentiert.

www.korsig.com

www.instagram.com/bodokorsig

www.facebook.com/KorsigStudio-152110594833230


Das schriftliche Interview ist ein wichtiges Medium, um Künstler:innenpersönlichkeiten vorzustellen, ihre Botschaften zu verbreiten und mit Kunstliebhaber:innen in Kontakt zu treten. Die Interviews werden von unserer Redaktion nicht redigiert oder gekürzt und stets im O-Ton wiedergegeben. Daher nehmen wir auch keine Übersetzung des Interviews in Englische bzw. Deutsche vor, es sei denn, diese wird seitens des/der Interviewten eingereicht, oder wir werden mit der Übersetzung betraut, wie hier geschehen.

This post is also available in: English

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.