LAUNCH OF THE 1st STRASBOURG BIENNALE | 15.12.2018 – 03.03.2019

TOUCH ME – BEING A CITIZEN IN THE DIGITAL AGE

15 DECEMBER 2018 – 3 MARCH 2019
HÔTEL DES POSTES | RUE WENCKER | 67000 STRASBOURG

For the first time, the historical cityscape of Strasbourg will serve as the backdrop for a major international contemporary art event, to be held in the venerable Hôtel des Postes and other historical venues across the city. Under the theme of Touch Me – Being a Citizen in the Digital Age, the inaugural edition of the Strasbourg Biennale brings together diverse artistic approaches on questions related to an increasingly digitalized world. Eighteen artists of nine different nationalities will present works exploring the nature of human responsibilities in a rapidly changing world as humane and humanistic values are being put to test.

DEEDS.WORD - PM_Strasbourg_Biennale_EN Logo-min

In an era when humans and objects are more integrated than ever, in a time of digital revolution when the internet is viewed as a place of knowledge and exchange, the relationship between the arts and technology becomes a key issue. What does it mean to be human, when technological developments are becoming more and more invasive? What is the relationship between individual identity and its virtual counterpart? How can we foster freedom and citizenship in cyberspace? Today, questions surrounding our digital being are at the forefront of socio-political debates. The Strasbourg Biennale’s first edition takes the current moment to reflect upon the internet’s status as a contested sphere of knowledge and exchange. Its programmatic approach aims to facilitate a contemporary inquiry into this transformative reality, within the historical cradle of Humanism and the European capital – Strasbourg.

DEEDS.WORD - PM_Strasbourg_Biennale_EN Logo-min

ARTISTS

Aram Bartholl (DE), Vincent Broquaire (FR), Paolo Cirio (IT), Claude Closky (FR), Constant Dullaart (NL), Mark Farid (UK), Jia (CHN), Philipp Lachenmann (DE), Florian Mehnert (DE), Harding Meyer (DE), Adrien Missika (FR), Alain Della Negra (FR) & Kaori Kinoshita (JP), Trevor Paglen (USA), Evan Roth (USA), Anike Joyce Sadiq (DE), Sarah Ancelle Schönfeld (DE), Louis-Philippe Scoufaras (CAN).

COMMISSIONER

The Strasbourg Biennale emerged from a community-driven initiative and is being curated by Yasmina Khouaidjia, co-founder of Galerie Associative Impact. For almost twenty years, the gallery’s main purpose has been to make contemporary art visible and accessible to the public. Impact was established as a non-profit organization in 2000 by three Strasbourg residents.

VENUES

The main venue of the Strasbourg Biennale is the iconic Hôtel des Postes in the heart of the city’s Neustadt. The UNESCO-protected former postal office was built in 1897 by Berlin architects Edwald von Rechenberg and Ernst Haake under Wilhelm II., accordingly to the reigning notions of avant-garde urbanism and architecture at the time. A testament to the development of telecommunications at the end of the 19th century, the Hôtel des Postes now functions as an emblematic link between historical evolution and the questions of today and tomorrow – the thematic core of the exhibition. The building will open exclusively for the occasion of the Strasbourg Biennale, before the historical site undergoes a major architectural transformation.

INSTAGRAM:       @BiennaleStrasbourg
FACEBOOK:         BiennaleArtContemporainDeStrasbourg
TWITTER:             @BiennaleStbg |
HASHTAG:            #BiennaleStrasbourg

www.Biennale-Strasbourg.eu

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Start der 1. STRASBOURG BIENNALE | 15.12.2018 – 03.03.2019

BERÜHR MICH – BÜRGER IM DIGITALEN ZEITALTER SEIN

15. DEZEMBER 2018 – 3. MÄRZ 2019
HÔTEL DES POSTES | RUE WENCKER | 67000 STRASBOURG

Erstmals wird das historische Stadtbild Straßburgs als Kulisse für eine bedeutende internationale Veranstaltung zeitgenössischer Kunst dienen, die im ehrwürdigen Hôtel des Postes und anderen historischen Orten in der ganzen Stadt stattfindet. Unter dem Motto Touch Me – Being a Citizen in the Digital Age vereint die Eröffnungsausgabe der Straßburger Biennale verschiedene künstlerische Ansätze zu Fragen im Zusammenhang mit einer zunehmend digitalisierten Welt. Achtzehn Künstler aus neun verschiedenen Nationalitäten präsentieren Werke, die sich mit der Natur der menschlichen Verantwortung in einer sich schnell verändernden Welt befassen, in der menschliche und humanistische Werte auf die Probe gestellt werden.

DEEDS.WORD - PM_Strasbourg_Biennale_EN Logo-min

In einer Zeit, in der Menschen und Objekte mehr denn je integriert sind, in einer Zeit der digitalen Revolution, in der das Internet als Ort des Wissens und des Austauschs betrachtet wird, wird das Verhältnis von Kunst und Technologie zu einem Schlüsselthema. Was bedeutet es, Mensch zu sein, wenn die technologischen Entwicklungen immer invasiver werden? Wie ist das Verhältnis zwischen der individuellen Identität und ihrem virtuellen Gegenstück? Wie können wir Freiheit und Bürgerschaft im Cyberspace fördern? Heute stehen Fragen rund um unser digitales Sein im Vordergrund der gesellschaftspolitischen Debatten. Die erste Ausgabe der Straßburger Biennale nimmt den aktuellen Moment zum Anlass, über den Status des Internets als umkämpfter Wissens- und Austauschraum nachzudenken. Sein programmatischer Ansatz zielt darauf ab, eine zeitgenössische Untersuchung dieser transformativen Realität innerhalb der historischen Wiege des Humanismus und der europäischen Hauptstadt Straßburg zu ermöglichen.

DEEDS.WORD - PM_Strasbourg_Biennale_EN Logo-min

Künstler

Aram Bartholl (DE), Vincent Broquaire (FR), Paolo Cirio (IT), Claude Closky (FR), Constant Dullaart (NL), Mark Farid (UK), Jia (CHN), Philipp Lachenmann (DE), Florian Mehnert (DE), Harding Meyer (DE), Adrien Missika (FR), Alain Della Negra (FR) & Kaori Kinoshita (JP), Trevor Paglen (USA), Evan Roth (USA), Anike Joyce Sadiq (DE), Sarah Ancelle Schönfeld (DE), Louis-Philippe Scoufaras (CAN).

COMMISSIONER

Die Straßburger Biennale ist aus einer gemeinschaftlichen Initiative hervorgegangen und wird von Yasmina Khouaidjia, Mitbegründerin der Galerie Associative Impact, kuratiert. Seit fast zwanzig Jahren ist es das Hauptziel der Galerie, zeitgenössische Kunst sichtbar und für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen. Im Jahr 2000 wurde Impact als gemeinnützige Organisation von drei Straßburgern gegründet.

VENUES

Der Hauptort der Straßburger Biennale ist das legendäre Hôtel des Postes im Herzen der Neustadt. Die UNESCO geschützte ehemalige Post wurde 1897 von den Berliner Architekten Edwald von Rechenberg und Ernst Haake unter Wilhelm II. erbaut, entsprechend den damals herrschenden Vorstellungen von avantgardistischer Urbanistik und Architektur. Als Zeugnis der Entwicklung der Telekommunikation Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts fungiert das Hôtel des Postes heute als emblematische Verbindung zwischen der historischen Evolution und den Fragen von heute und morgen – dem thematischen Kern der Ausstellung. Das Gebäude wird exklusiv für die Biennale in Straßburg eröffnet, bevor die historische Stätte eine große architektonische Veränderung erfährt.

INSTAGRAM:       @BiennaleStrasbourg
FACEBOOK:         BiennaleArtContemporainDeStrasbourg
TWITTER:             @BiennaleStbg |
HASHTAG:            #BiennaleStrasbourg

www.Biennale-Strasbourg.eu

This post is also available in: English

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.