KW Institute for Contemporary Art | Reopening + New exhibition periods

KW Institute for Contemporary Art will open its doors again to visitors* from Saturday, May 30, 2020. After temporary closure, the building invites visitors to visit the exhibitions of Hassan Sharif, Jasmina Metwaly and Yazan Khalili within the regular opening hours.

ART at Berlin - KW Institute for Contemporary Art - Installation view corridor 2016 - Photo Frank Sperling

KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Installation view corridor, 2016, Photo: Frank Sperling

As part of the reopening, comprehensive hygiene and protective measures will be taken to protect visitors and employees in accordance with the Standards des Landes Berlin. The total number of permitted visitors* in the current exhibitions is limited to 25 persons, so that the minimum distance of 1.5 m can be maintained. For detailed information on our hygiene and protection measures, please refer to the Webseite.

Café Bravo is also opening its doors – coffee specialities as well as changing cake and snack offers can be consumed in the courtyard of KW or ordered to take away.


Exhibitions

Hassan Sharif

I Am The Single Work Artist

New period: 30. May – 19. July 2020

In collaboration with Sharjah Art Foundation and Malmö Konsthall, KW presents the first major retrospective of the Emirati artist Hassan Sharif (1951–2016) in Europe. Sharif was one of the most influential artists from the Middle East of the twentieth century. He is considered a leading pioneer of Conceptual Art and new experimental artistic approaches that reconceived a conventional understanding of time, space, form, and social interactions, and which continue to resonate significantly with the younger generation to this day. Throughout his lifetime, Sharif created a complex, critical, and multifaceted body of work, including drawings, paintings, assemblages, sculptural installations, and performances. Detached from local art production, he articulated an artistic language that followed its own logic and artistic impetus, and was also process-based and not elitist.

Mophradat’s Consortium Commissions:

Jasmina Metwaly & Yazan Khalili

New period: 30. May – 19. July 2020

As part of the first edition of the Consortium Commissions, KW and Mophradat present two solo exhibitions of the artists Jasmina Metwaly (born in 1982, PL) and Yazan Khalili (born in 1981, SY), each of whom will present a new moving image work. Metwaly’s three-channel video installation with textile components addresses the semantics of military uniforms in the aftermath of the 2011 Egyptian revolution, and Khalili’s video installation is based on his long-standing engagement with digital archiving in times of political unrest. A pioneering model for co-commissioning ambitious new work, the Consortium Commissions exemplify Mophradat’s inventive approach to supporting artists throughout the Arab world.

KW Institute for Contemporary Art
Auguststraße 69
10117 Berlin-Mitte

www.kw-berlin.de

 

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

KW Institute for Contemporary Art | Wiedereröffnung + neue Laufzeiten der Ausstellungen

Die KW Institute for Contemporary Art eröffnen ab Samstag, 30. Mai 2020 wieder für den Besucher*innenverkehr. Nach temporärer Schließung lädt das Haus im Rahmen der regulären Öffnungszeiten zum Besuch der Ausstellungen von Hassan Sharif, Jasmina Metwaly und Yazan Khalili ein.

ART at Berlin - KW Institute for Contemporary Art - Installation view corridor 2016 - Photo Frank Sperling

KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Installation view corridor, 2016, Photo: Frank Sperling

Im Rahmen der Wiedereröffnung werden zum Schutz von Besucher*innen und Mitarbeiter*innen umfassende Hygiene- und Schutzmaßnahmen entsprechend der geltenden Standards des Landes Berlin getroffen. Die Gesamtzahl der zulässigen Besucher*innen in den aktuellen Ausstellungen ist auf 25 Personen begrenzt, sodass der Mindestabstand von 1,5 m eingehalten werden kann. Ausführliche Informationen zu unseren Hygiene- und Schutzmaßnahmen entnehmen Sie bitte der Webseite der KW.

Das Café Bravo nimmt ebenfalls den Betrieb auf – Kaffeespezialitäten sowie wechselnde Kuchen- und Snackangebote können im Hof der KW verzehrt oder zum Mitnehmen bestellt werden.

Ausstellungen

Hassan Sharif

I Am The Single Work Artist

Neue Laufzeit: 30. Mai – 19. Juli 2020

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Sharjah Art Foundation und der Malmö Konsthall präsentieren die KW die erste umfassende Retrospektive des aus den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten stammenden Künstlers Hassan Sharif (1951–2016). Sharif gehört zu den einflussreichsten Künstler*innen des 20. Jahrhunderts im Nahen und Mittleren Osten. Als einer der führenden Pioniere der Konzeptkunst und eines innovativen künstlerisch-experimentellen Ansatzes dachte Sharif tradierte Vorstellungen von Raum, Zeit, Form und sozialer Interaktion neu. Im Laufe seines Lebens schuf er ein komplexes, kritisches und mannigfaltiges Œuvre, das Zeichnungen, Gemälde, Assemblagen, skulpturale Installationen und Performances umfasst. Losgelöst von der lokalen Kunstproduktion artikulierte Sharif eine künstlerische Sprache, die ihrer eigenen Logik und ihrem eigenen künstlerischen Impuls folgte, prozessorientiert und nicht elitär war. Seine Arbeiten zeichnen sich durch die Verwendung alltäglicher Materialien aus und spiegeln die Produktionsbedingungen in einer postmodernen, postglobalen Gesellschaft wider – einer künstlerischen Reflexion gleich, die sich aus einer analytischen Sicht auf die unmittelbare Umgebung und aus philosophischen Fragen speist.

Mophradat’s Consortium Commissions:

Jasmina Metwaly & Yazan Khalili

Neue Laufzeit: 30. Mai – 19. Juli 2020

Im Rahmen der ersten Ausgabe der Consortium Commissions präsentieren die KW in Zusammenarbeit mit Mophradat zwei Einzelausstellungen der Künstler*innen Jasmina Metwaly (*1982, PL) und Yazan Khalili (*1981, SY), die jeweils zwei neue Arbeiten aus dem Bereich des künstlerischen Bewegtbildes vorstellen werden. Metwalys mit textilen Komponenten durchsetzte Dreikanal-Videoinstallation beschäftigt sich mit der Semantik von Militäruniformen nach der ägyptischen Revolution 2011. Die Videoinstallation von Khalili basiert auf der langjährigen Auseinandersetzung des Künstlers mit digitalen Archivierungsverfahren in Zeiten politischer Unruhen. Als wegweisendes Modell zur Förderung progressiver Auftragsarbeiten stehen die Consortium Commissions für Mophradats innovativen Ansatz zur Unterstützung von Künstler*innen im gesamten arabischen Raum.

KW Institute for Contemporary Art
Auguststraße 69
10117 Berlin-Mitte

www.kw-berlin.de

This post is also available in: English

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.