Joe Ramirez | The Gold Projections | Pierre Boulez Saal | 02.08.-31.08.2019

On five weekends in August, the Pierre Boulez Saal becomes the venue for The Gold Projections, an installation by American artist Joe Ramirez. During the summer break before the start of the season, Berlin’s new concert hall is transformed into a place of silence where this extraordinary project can unfold its immersive effect.

ART at Berlin - Pierre Boulez Saal - The Gold Projections - Joe Ramirez

Joe Ramirez – The Gold Projections

Inspired by Frank Gehry’s first designs for the architecture of the Pierre Boulez Hall, the Gold Projections consist of two human-sized golden discs hanging opposite each other in an elliptical space, combining painting and moving image to create a fascinating visual and sensual experience. In the dark, the surface of the wooden discs, handcrafted by Ramirez and gilded using a traditional Renaissance technique, comes to life: High-resolution projections that reflect dream images, visions and memories invite the audience on a unique journey. The two films produced by Ramirez, Vermilion and Somnium, will be shown as part of the installation.

“Silence is to music what darkness is to the Gold Projections,” Ramirez explains, looking at the presentation of his work in a concert hall. “This moment of tension and complementarity between emptiness and abundance is central to a work of art as well as social inclusion.”

Joe Ramirez – The Gold Projections

Born in San Francisco in 1958, Joe Ramirez has lived in Berlin since 2007. He studied painting and film at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago as well as sculpture at the Royal College of Art in London and initially worked as a fresco painter. During the restoration of the Sistine Chapel in the Vatican, he had the opportunity to see Michelangelo’s ceiling paintings up close – an experience that directly inspired the creation of the Gold Projections. Starting from the origins of Western painting (especially Giotto, the Flemish masters, El Greco and Goya) and in dialogue with contemporary (light) artists such as James Turrell, Robert Irwin and Jim Campbell, Ramirez’s work turns to the notion of integration and an “art of bringing together” that fuses silence and moving images. Combining tradition and unexplored perspectives, the Gold Projections in the Pierre Boulez Hall invite the viewer to discover new, unknown, inner and outer social and existential landscapes.

“Ramirez’s use of the relationship of light as material, and material as light, grounds his projections within a highly personal and original aesthetic that is best described as an expanded alchemical imagination.”

Mark Gisbourne

“All I know is: there’s nothing like it.”

Wim Wenders

The Pierre Boulez Hall, founded by the conductor and pianist Daniel Barenboim, opened in March 2017 in Berlin. The concert hall, designed by Frank Gehry, is part of the Barenboim-Said Academy, a conservatory for music students primarily from the Middle East and North Africa, and hosts more than 150 concerts each season. In addition to the classical and contemporary chamber music repertoire of the 18th to 21st centuries, music from the Arab and Persian worlds, jazz and concerts with students from the Academy play an important role in the programme.

An earlier version of the Gold Projections was shown at the Berlinale in 2017. Presented by Pierre Boulez Saal in cooperation with the Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB).

Joe Ramirez | The Gold Projections

WHERE? Pierre Boulez Saal, Französische Straße 33 d, 10117 Berlin-Mitte

WHEN? 02.–31. August 2019, open Fridays and Saturdays from sunset until 1:00 a.m.

COSTS? 14 EUR advance booking / 10 EUR box office, subject to availability / 7 EUR reduced. Maximum number of visitors: 200

www.boulezsaal.de

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Joe Ramirez | The Gold Projections | Pierre Boulez Saal | 02.08.-31.08.2019

An fünf Wochenenden im August wird der Pierre Boulez Saal zum Schauplatz für The Gold Projections, einer Installation des amerikanischen Künstlers Joe Ramirez. Während der Sommerpause vor Beginn der Saison verwandelt sich Berlins neuer Konzertsaal so in einen Ort der Stille, an dem dieses außergewöhnliche Projekt seine immersive Wirkung entfalten kann.

ART at Berlin - Pierre Boulez Saal - The Gold Projections - Joe Ramirez

Joe Ramirez – The Gold Projections

Inspiriert von Frank Gehrys ersten Entwürfen für die Architektur des Pierre Boulez Saals, bestehen die Gold Projections aus zwei menschengroßen goldenen Scheiben, die einander im elliptischen Raum gegenüber hängen und Malerei und Bewegtbild zu einer faszinierenden visuellen und sinnlichen Erfahrung verbinden. Im Dunklen erwacht die Oberfläche der von Ramirez in Handarbeit hergestellten und mit Hilfe einer traditionellen Renaissance-Technik vergoldeten Holzscheiben zum Leben: Hochauflösende Projektionen, die Traumbilder, Visionen und Erinnerungen reflektieren, laden das Publikum zu einer einzigartigen Reise ein. Im Rahmen der Installation werden die beiden von Ramirez produzierten Filme Vermilion und Somnium gezeigt.

„Stille ist für Musik das, was Dunkelheit für die Gold Projections ist“, erklärt Ramirez mit Blick auf die Präsentation seines Werks in einem Konzertsaal. „Dieses Moment der Spannung und der Komplementarität zwischen Leere und Fülle ist zentraler Bestandteil eines Kunstwerks ebenso wie der sozialen Inklusion.“

Joe Ramirez – The Gold Projections

Der 1958 in San Francisco geborene Joe Ramirez lebt seit 2007 in Berlin. Er studierte Malerei und Film an der School of the Art Institute of Chicago sowie Bildhauerei am Royal College of Art in London und war zunächst als Freskenmaler tätig. Während der Restauration der Sixtinischen Kapelle im Vatikan hatte er die Gelegenheit, Michelangelos Deckengemälde aus nächster Nähe zu betrachten – ein Erlebnis, das die Entstehung der Gold Projections unmittelbar inspiriert hat. Ausgehend von den Ursprüngen westlicher Malerei (insbesondere Giotto, den flämischen Meistern, El Greco und Goya) und im Dialog mit zeitgenössischen (Licht-)Künstlern wie James Turrell, Robert Irwin und Jim Campbell wendet sich Ramirez’ Arbeit dem Gedanken der Integration und einer „Kunst der Zusammenführung“ zu, die Stille und bewegte Bilder miteinander verschmelzen lässt. In ihrer Verbindung von Tradition und unerforschten Perspektiven laden die Gold Projections im Pierre Boulez Saal zur Entdeckung neuer, unbekannter, innerer und äußerer gesellschaftlicher ebenso wie existentieller Landschaften ein.

“Ramirez’s use of the relationship of light as material, and material as light, grounds his projections within a highly personal and original aesthetic that is best described as an expanded alchemical imagination.”

Mark Gisbourne

“All I know is: there’s nothing like it.”

Wim Wenders

Der Pierre Boulez Saal, gegründet von dem Dirigenten und Pianisten Daniel Barenboim, wurde im März 2017 in Berlin eröffnet. Der von Frank Gehry entworfene Konzertsaal ist Teil der Barenboim-Said Akademie, einem Konservatorium für Musikstudierende vornehmlich aus den Ländern des Nahen Ostens und Nordafrikas, und veranstaltet jede Saison mehr als 150 Konzerte. Neben dem klassischen und zeitgenössischen Kammermusik-Repertoire des 18. bis 21. Jahrhunderts nehmen Musik aus der arabischen und persischen Welt, Jazz sowie Konzerte mit Studierenden der Akademie einen wichtigen Platz im Programmangebot ein.

Eine frühere Version der Gold Projections war 2017 im Rahmen der Berlinale zu sehen. Präsentiert vom Pierre Boulez Saal in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB).

Joe Ramirez | The Gold Projections

Wo? Pierre Boulez Saal, Französische Straße 33 d, 10117 Berlin-Mitte

WANN? 02.–31. August 2019, geöffnet freitags und samstags von Sonnenuntergang bis 1:00 Uhr

KOSTET? 14 EUR Vorverkauf / 10 EUR Abendkasse, nach Verfügbarkeit / 7 EUR ermäßigt. Maximale Besucherzahl: 200

www.boulezsaal.de

This post is also available in: English

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.