Jocelyn B. Smith | We sing black tide | For South Sudan | Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gedächtnis-Kirche | 30.09.2019

Sing along for clean water! On 30 September 2019 at 8 p.m. the Berlin-based jazz singer Jocelyn B. Smith and the Southern Sudanese artists’ collective AnaTaban invite you to a concert “We sing black tide – singt mit und für sauberes Wasser” in the Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church at Breitscheidplatz. The lyricist of the song is the artist Terry Swartzberg, who initiated the evening together with the Konstanz human rights and aid organization Hoffnungszeichen | Sign of Hope e.V.. With this event, the organisation draws attention to the environmental catastrophe in Southern Sudan caused by the oil industry and advocates the human right to clean water for those affected. The evening will be supported by other musicians, soloists and various Berlin choirs. The video message of this evening will go around the world via social media.

ART-at-Berlin---forsouthsudan---Courtesy-of-Terry-Swartzberg---black-tide---logo

The Southern Sudanese artist collective AnaTaban performs the song “Black Tide” together with the Berlin choirs, among others members of the choir “Different Voices of Berlin”, the Berlin Soul Choir and the Holzmarkt Choir, under the direction of the singer Jocelyn B. Smith. The song tells of the struggle of the Southern Sudanese for clean water and against oil pollution, which threatens their livelihood.

AnaTaban means “I’m tired” or “We’re tired of it.” The song “Black Tide” (> Schwarze Flut) was composed by Sebastian Oswald and staged in 2019 by the collective of South Sudanese artists. They compete with their music against war, rape, fights and hunger, which destroy their country. The video for “Black tide” by the group AnaTaban can be found on Youtube or here.

The text for “Black Tide” was written by the artist Terry Swartzberg. He is known to many above all for his Stumbling Stone Movement, with which he preserves the memory of Holocaust victims in Berlin and other cities. Like Jocelyn B. Smith, Terry comes from New York and is an “ethical campaigner” committed to various important contemporary themes. With Hoffnungszeichen e.V. Terry Swartzberg fights for a clean environment and clean water in Africa. He lives in Munich.

ART-at-Berlin---forsouthsudan---Courtesy-of-Terry-Swartzberg--Portrait

Portrait Terry Swartzberg, by courtesy of Terry Swartzberg

All those interested are cordially invited to sing along. Admission is free, please make a donation. The invitation of Hoffnungszeichen e.V. is clearly formulated: “Sing with us for the human right to clean water in Southern Sudan, in Africa and in the world! Sing with us for an end to the poisoning of our water, our politics and our lives by the oil companies! Sing with us for a world in which resources and opportunities are fairly distributed”.

ART-at-Berlin---forsouthsudan---Courtesy-of-Terry-Swartzberg---black-tide

“A reporter’s searching look at a major and growing crisis by Joseph Oduha – Pollution in South Sudan: human suffering through inhumane greed …” Read more in the article: www.forsouthsudan.com/pollution-in-south-sudan-human-suffering-through-inhumane-greed

Sawsan Chebli, Berlin’s State Plenipotentiary to the Federal Government and State Secretary for Citizenship and International Affairs, will open the event. Programme items of the evening are among other things the conception of the human right campaign hoping sign against the drinking water pollution by Klaus Stieglitz, second executive committee of the association, an empiric report to the situation in the south Sudan by the group AnaTaban as well as the common singing with AnaTaban and choirs from Berlin under the direction of Jocelyn B. Smith.

“We are pleased to be able to organize this concert in Berlin in the Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church with Pastor Martin Germer and his parish,” says Reimund Reubelt, First Chairman of Hoffnungszeichen. “For more than ten years, Hoffnungszeichen has been committed to the right to clean water in Southern Sudan. With this event in Berlin, we are sending a signal of solidarity to those affected by the oil catastrophe. We want to draw attention to the pollution of drinking water by the oil industry and at the same time persuade the polluters to act”. The organisation in Constance is calling for an end to drinking water pollution, medical treatment and access to clean water for the affected Southern Sudanese.

The Malaysian oil company and Daimler partner Petronas poisons the drinking water of numerous people in Southern Sudan through the improper extraction and processing of crude oil, according to research by the association. Around 600,000 people are affected. One of the largest swamplands in the world, the Sudd, is at risk. Signs of hope help in the construction of deep wells, in educating the people and enter into dialogue with those responsible.

ART-at-Berlin---forsouthsudan---Courtesy-of-Terry-Swartzberg---black-tide---photo-contest-winner

Playing in pollution – the winning photo of the photo contest with an oppressive message: Children frolicking in lead poisoned water. More photos at Stop #BloodOil in South Sudan.

The “Black Tide” concert, information and sing along evening for clean water is the prelude to a theme month with an exhibition and activities on the global topic of water.

WHEN? Monday, 30.09.2019, 8:00 pm

WHERE? Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gedächtnis-Kirche, Breitscheidplatz, 10789 Berlin-Charlottenburg

COSTS?Admission free, donation requested

Hoffnungszeichen | Sign of Hope e.V. is a non-denominational human rights and aid organization based in Constance on Lake Constance. Guided by the values of charity, solidarity and humanity, the association has been providing humanitarian aid for people in need for more than 35 years and is committed to sustainable development projects and human rights. The focus is on central East Africa with the focus countries Ethiopia, Kenya, Southern Sudan and Uganda.

Further informations: www.forsouthsudan.com

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Jocelyn B. Smith | We sing black tide | For South Sudan | Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gedächtnis-Kirche | 30.09.2019

Singt mit für sauberes Wasser! Am 30. September 2019 um 20 Uhr lädt die in Berlin lebende Jazz-Sängerin Jocelyn B. Smith und das südsudanesische Künstlerkollektiv AnaTaban zum (Mitsing-)Konzert „We sing black tide – singt mit und für sauberes Wasser“ in die Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gedächtnis Kirche am Breitscheidplatz. Texter des Songs ist der Künstler Terry Swartzberg, der den Abend zusammen mit der Konstanzer Menschenrechts- und Hilfsorganisation Hoffnungszeichen | Sign of Hope e.V. initiiert. Die Organisation macht mit dem Event auf die von der Ölindustrie verursachte Umweltkatastrophe im Südsudan aufmerksam und setzt sich für das Menschenrecht auf sauberes Wasser der Betroffenen ein. Den Abend unterstützen weitere Musiker, Solisten und verschiedene Berliner Chöre. Die Videobotschaft dieses Abends soll via Social Media um die Welt gehen.

ART-at-Berlin---forsouthsudan---Courtesy-of-Terry-Swartzberg---black-tide---logo

Das südsudanesische Künstlerkollektiv AnaTaban führt gemeinsam mit den Berliner Chören, u.a. Mitgliedern des Chors „Different Voices of Berlin“, des Berliner Soulchors und des Holzmarkt Chors, unter der Leitung der Sängerin Jocelyn B. Smith das Lied „Black Tide“ auf. Der Song erzählt vom Kampf der Südsudanesen für sauberes Wasser und gegen die Ölverschmutzung, die ihre Lebensgrundlage existentiell bedroht.

AnaTaban bedeutet soviel wie “Ich bin es leid” oder “Wir haben es satt”. Das Lied “Black Tide” (> Schwarze Flut) wurde von Sebastian Oswald komponiert und 2019 von dem Kollektiv südsudanesischer Künstler inszeniert. Sie treten mit ihrer Musik an gegen Krieg, Vergewaltigung, Kämpfe und Hunger, die ihr Land zerstören. Das Video zu „Black tide“ der Gruppe AnaTaban finden Sie auf Youtube oder hier.

Der Text zu „Black Tide“ stammt übrigens vom Künstler Terry Swartzberg. Er ist vielen vor allem durch seine Stolpersteine-Bewegung bekannt, mit der er in Berlin und anderen Städten das Gedenken an Holocaust-Opfer bewahrt. Wie Jocelyn B. Smith stammt Terry aus New York und setzt sich als „ethical campaigner“ für verschiedene wichtige Themen des Zeitgeschehens ein. Mit Hoffnungszeichen e.V. kämpft Terry Swartzberg für eine saubere Umwelt und sauberes Wasser in Afrika. Er lebt in München.

ART-at-Berlin---forsouthsudan---Courtesy-of-Terry-Swartzberg--Portrait

Portrait Terry Swartzberg, by courtesy of Terry Swartzberg

Alle Interessierten sind herzlich zum Mitsingen eingeladen. Der Eintritt ist frei, um eine Sprende wird gebeten. Die Einladung von Hoffnungszeichen e.V. ist klar formuliert: „Singt mit uns für das Menschenrecht auf sauberes Wasser im Südsudan, in Afrika und auf der Welt! Singt mit uns für ein Ende der Vergiftung unseres Wassers, unserer Politik und unseres Lebens durch die Ölkonzerne! Singt mit uns für eine Welt, in der Ressourcen und Chancen gerecht verteilt sind!“

ART-at-Berlin---forsouthsudan---Courtesy-of-Terry-Swartzberg---black-tide

“A reporter’s searching look at a major and growing crisis by Joseph Oduha – Pollution in South Sudan: human suffering through inhumane greed …”
Mehr im Artikel: www.forsouthsudan.com/pollution-in-south-sudan-human-suffering-through-inhumane-greed

Die Bevollmächtigte des Landes Berlin beim Bund und Staatssekretärin für Bürgerschaftliches Engagement und Internationales, Sawsan Chebli wird die Veranstaltung eröffnen. Programmpunkte des Abends sind u. a. die Vorstellung der Menschenrechtskampagne Hoffnungszeichens gegen die Trinkwasserverschmutzung durch Klaus Stieglitz, zweiter Vorstand des Vereins, ein Erfahrungsbericht zur Situation im Südsudan durch die Gruppe AnaTaban sowie das gemeinsame Singen mit AnaTaban und Chören aus Berlin unter der Leitung von Jocelyn B. Smith.

„Wir freuen uns in Berlin in der Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gedächtnis-Kirche mit Pfarrer Martin Germer und seiner Kirchengemeinde dieses Konzert veranstalten zu können“, sagt Reimund Reubelt, Erster Vorstand von Hoffnungszeichen. „Seit über zehn Jahren engagiert sich Hoffnungszeichen für das Recht auf sauberes Wasser im Südsudan. Mit dem Ereignis in Berlin setzen wir ein Zeichen der Solidarität für die Betroffenen der Ölkatastrophe. Wir wollen auf die Verschmutzungen des Trinkwassers durch die Ölindustrie aufmerksam machen und zugleich die Verursacher zum Handeln bewegen.“ Die Konstanzer Organisation fordert u. a. ein Ende der Trinkwasserverschmutzung, medizinische Behandlungen sowie Zugang zu sauberem Wasser für die betroffenen Südsudanesen.

Der malaysische Ölkonzern und Daimler-Partner Petronas vergiftet nach Recherchen des Vereins durch die unsachgemäße Förderung und Weiterverarbeitung von Rohöl das Trinkwasser zahlreicher Menschen im Südsudan. Rund 600.000 Menschen sind betroffen. Eines der größten Sumpfgebiete der Welt, der Sudd, ist gefährdet. Hoffnungszeichen hilft beim Bau von Tiefbrunnen, bei der Aufklärung der Menschen und tritt in den Dialog mit den Verantwortlichen.

ART-at-Berlin---forsouthsudan---Courtesy-of-Terry-Swartzberg---black-tide---photo-contest-winner

Playing in pollution – das Gewinner-Foto des Fotowettbewerbs mit einer beklemmenden Botschaft: Kinder, die in bleivergiftetem Wasser toben.
Mehr Fotos unter Stop #BloodOil in South Sudan
.

Der „Black Tide“-Konzert-, Info- und Mitsing-Abend für sauberes Wasser bildet den Auftakt für einen Themenmonat mit der Ausstellung Aqua Globalis und Aktivitäten rund um das globale Thema Wasser.

WANN? Montag, 30.09.2019, 20:00 Uhr

WO? Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gedächtnis-Kirche, Breitscheidplatz, 10789 Berlin-Charlottenburg

KOSTET? Eintritt frei, um eine Spende wird gebeten

Hoffnungszeichen | Sign of Hope e.V. ist eine überkonfessionelle Menschenrechts- und Hilfsorganisation mit Sitz in Konstanz am Bodensee. Geleitet von den Werten der Nächstenliebe, Solidarität und Mitmenschlichkeit leistet der Verein seit über 35 Jahren humanitäre Hilfe für Menschen in Not, engagiert sich mit nachhaltigen Entwicklungsprojekten und für Menschenrechte. Im Fokus steht das zentrale Ostafrika mit den Schwerpunktländern Äthiopien, Kenia, Südsudan und Uganda.

Weitere Informationen: www.forsouthsudan.com

This post is also available in: English

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.