Erich Reusch | grenzenlos. Artworks 1951-2019 | Foundation Situation Kunst | Museum unter Tage Bochum | 06.05.-23.08.2020

The artist Erich Reusch, represented by the Berlin gallery ‘kajetan Berlin | Raum für Kunst’, can currently be seen in a one-man show in the Museum unter Tage Bochum, a section of the Situation Kunst Foundation (for Max Imdahl). On display there are paintings, photographs, objects, sculptures and drawings by the artist, who died in December 2019 and who had partly accompanied the conception of the exhibition.

DEEDS WORLD - Courtesy of Museum unter Tage - Erich Reusch 1965 2019 - Ausstellung grenzenlos 2020

Erich Reusch, Untitled, 1965/Variant 2019, steel, wood, acrylic, epoxy varnish,
222 x 410 x 170 cm, on loan from private property

Erich Reusch would have turned 95 this year. To mark the occasion, the Situation Kunst Foundation is dedicating an exhibition to him that spans the arc from his earliest reliefs to his most recent, predominantly explosively colorful paintings. After Erich Reusch had initially actively accompanied the conception of the exhibition with his own intensity and creative power, he died on December 29, 2019, after a long illness. Since then, it has been and still is a major concern of the Foundation Situation Kunst to realize the exhibition as much as possible in his spirit and thus to keep his impressive work in consciousness.

DEEDS WORLD - Erich Reusch - Portrait 2019 - Foto Simone Reusch

Erich Reusch, portrait from the year 2019, photo: Simone Reusch

Reusch, who had studied both architecture and sculpture, left the studio at an early age in search of an engagement with the everyday world. His works for public space are difficult to categorize: they structure the space with plastic elements, with irritating sound frequencies, laser or ultrasound, or, as at the Forum of the Ruhr University Bochum, they create their own microclimatic zones through more audible than visible watercourses. Although addressed with all senses, the human being is not the focus here, but is often found relativized and challenged to rethink the familiar and one’s own existence. It is a matter of sounding out distances, of making interspatial references visible, of artistically overcoming physical boundaries. These frequently site-specific works, which in addition to the experiments mentioned above also include designs for an Auschwitz Memorial or for the redesign of the Memorial to German Resistance in the Bendlerblock in Berlin, exceed the possibilities of museum presentation.


DEEDS WORLD - Courtesy of Museum unter Tage - Erich Reusch - Ausstellung grenzenlos 2020 - 1


Exhibition view

Most people will be familiar with Erich Reusch’s electrostatic objects created from Plexiglas and soot since the 1970s, which are represented in the exhibition in characteristic variations. They create a visible but inaccessible space, are objects in themselves and yet, in their translucent presence, they also redefine the entire environment. Due to the changing electrostatic charge, these works are in a constant process of change, the soot on the interior walls is set in motion, creating ever new formations.

The exhibition comprises around 55 works, including loans from the Adolf Luther Foundation Krefeld, the Museum DKM Duisburg, the art collections of the Ruhr University Bochum, among others. Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, the Peter Raue Collection and other private collections.

A catalogue with contributions by Karen van den Berg, Alexander von Berswordt, Norbert Lammert and Maria Spiegel has been published for the exhibition: 146 p., 93 illustrations.


DEEDS WORLD - Courtesy of Museum unter Tage - Erich Reusch - Ausstellung grenzenlos 2020 - 4


Exhibition view


Foundation Situation Kunst + Museum unter Tage

The Foundation Situation Kunst was founded on April 25, 2005. In the course of 2005, it erected an extension to the existing Situation Kunst project, which was opened to the public as part of the art collections of the Ruhr-Universität Bochum on September 6, 2006. The presentation, designed as a permanent exhibition, was conceived and realized by Alexander and Silke von Berswordt-Wallrabe, based on donations from their private collection and donations from artists such as François Morellet and Lee Ufan as well as the Archivio Gianni Colombo. The expansion project was made possible by numerous endowments and donations from private individuals and companies in Germany and abroad; it was realized without any use of public funds.

The Museum unter Tage (MuT) was opened in November 2015 and was built underground on the main axis of Haus Weitmar’s castle park, protecting the landscape. It fulfils two essential functions: One third (approx. 500 square metres) of the exhibition space is used for temporary exhibitions, which are developed in cooperation with various RUB institutes and, if possible, are sent on tour from here to other museums throughout Germany and Europe. Two thirds (approx. 1,000 square metres) of the exhibition space are used to permanently present parts of the collection of world views. This comprises around 350 works of landscape art since the 15th century, from classical oil paintings to room-filling video-sound installations. In an exhibition series starting in Bochum, this collection has already been shown in several German and international museums (including Kiel, Wiesbaden, Chemnitz, Cottbus, Maastricht).


DEEDS WORLD - Courtesy of Mueum unter Tage - Erich Reusch Zyan 2014 - grenzenlos 2020


Erich Reusch, cyan (electrostatic charge), 2014,
electrostatic object, acrylic paint, Ø 50 cm, height 12 cm

If you are interested and have questions about works, please contact the gallery kajetan Berlin:

kajetan Berlin | Raum für Kunst
Gneisenaustraße 33 (factory building, 1st courtyard)
10961 Berlin-Kreuzberg
Tel. +49 (0)176 57 79 26 51
info@kajetan.berlin
Wednesday – Friday 2:00 – 7:00 pm, Saturday, 12:00 – 4:00 pm and by arrangement


+++ KEEP IN MIND > stay safe wear masks +++

Exhibition: Erich Reusch: grenzenlos. Artworks 1951-2019

6th May 2020 – 23rd August 2020

Museum unter Tage
Situation Kunst (for Max Imdahl)
Nevelstraße 29c (in the park area of Haus Weitmar)
44795 Bochum
Germany
+49 (0)234 3228523

Opening hours: Wed – Fri: 2:00 – 6:00 pm, Sat + Sun: 12:00 – 6:00 pm

 

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Erich Reusch | grenzenlos. Werke 1951-2019 | Stiftung Situation Kunst | Museum unter Tage Bochum | 06.05.-23.08.2020

Der von der Berliner Galerie ‘kajetan Berlin | Raum für Kunst’ vertretene Künstler Erich Reusch ist gegenwärtig in einer musealen Einzelausstellung im Museum unter Tage Bochum zu sehen, einem Bereich der Stiftung Situation Kunst (für Max Imdahl). Gezeigt werden dort Bilder, Fotobilder, Objekte, Skulpturen und Zeichnungen des im Dezember 2019 verstorbenen Künstlers, der die Konzeption der Ausstellung teilweise noch begleitet hatte.

DEEDS WORLD - Courtesy of Museum unter Tage - Erich Reusch 1965 2019 - Ausstellung grenzenlos 2020

Erich Reusch, Ohne Titel, 1965/Variante 2019, Stahl, Holz, Acryl, Epoxylack,
222 x 410 x 170 cm, Leihgabe aus Privatbesitz

Erich Reusch wäre in diesem Jahr 95 Jahre alt geworden. Aus diesem Anlass widmet ihm die Stiftung Situation Kunst eine Ausstellung, die den Bogen von frühesten Reliefs bis hin zu seinen neuesten, überwiegend explosiv farbigen Bildern spannt. Nachdem Erich Reusch die Konzeption der Ausstellung mit der ihm eigenen Intensität und Gestaltungskraft anfangs rege begleitet hatte, starb er am 29. Dezember 2019 nach längerer Krankheit. Seitdem war und ist es der Stiftung Situation Kunst ein wesentliches Anliegen, die Ausstellung so weit wie möglich in seinem Sinn umzusetzen und damit sein beeindruckendes Werk im Bewusstsein zu halten.

DEEDS WORLD - Erich Reusch - Portrait 2019 - Foto Simone Reusch

Erich Reusch, Portrait aus dem Jahr 2019, Foto: Simone Reusch

Schon früh verließ Reusch, der sowohl Architektur als auch Bildhauerei studiert hatte, das Atelier und suchte die Auseinandersetzung mit der Alltagwelt. Seine Werke für den öffentlichen Raum sind schwerlich in Kategorien zu fassen: Sie strukturieren den Raum mit plastischen Elementen, mit irritierenden Tonfrequenzen, Laser oder Ultraschall, oder schaffen, wie am Forum der Ruhr-Universität Bochum, eigene mikroklimatische Zonen durch mehr hör- als sichtbare Wasserläufe. Obwohl mit allen Sinnen angesprochen, steht der Mensch hier nicht im Mittelpunkt, sondern findet sich vielfach relativiert und aufgefordert, das Vertraute und die eigene Existenz neu zu denken. Es geht um die Auslotung von Distanzen, um die Sichtbarmachung zwischenräumlicher Bezüge, die künstlerische Überwindung physikalischer Grenzen. Diese häufig ortsbezogenen Werke, die neben den genannten Experimenten u.a. auch Entwürfe für ein Auschwitz-Mahnmal oder für die Neugestaltung des Ehrenmals für den Deutschen Widerstand im Bendlerblock in Berlin umfassen, überschreiten die Möglichkeiten musealer Präsentation.

DEEDS WORLD - Courtesy of Museum unter Tage - Erich Reusch - Ausstellung grenzenlos 2020 - 1

Blick in die Ausstellung

Den meisten wird Erich Reusch durch seine seit den 1970er Jahren aus Plexiglas und Ruß geschaffenen elektrostatischen Objekte bekannt sein, die in der Ausstellung in charakteristischen Varianten vertreten sind. Sie schaffen einen sichtbaren, aber unzugänglichen Raum, sind Objekte an sich und bestimmen in ihrer durchscheinenden Präsenz doch auch das gesamte Umfeld neu. Durch die wechselnde elektrostatische Aufladung befinden sich diese Werke in einem ständigen Prozess der Veränderung, der Ruß an den Innenwänden wird in Bewegung gesetzt und erzeugt immer neue Formationen.

Die Ausstellung umfasst rund 55 Werke, darunter Leihgaben u.a. von der Adolf-Luther-Stiftung Krefeld, dem Museum DKM Duisburg, den Kunstsammlungen der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Museum moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst, der Sammlung Peter Raue sowie aus weiteren privaten Sammlungen.

Zur Ausstellung ist ein Katalog mit Beiträgen von Karen van den Berg, Alexander von Berswordt, Norbert Lammert und Maria Spiegel erschienen: 146 S., 93 Abbildungen.

DEEDS WORLD - Courtesy of Museum unter Tage - Erich Reusch - Ausstellung grenzenlos 2020 - 4

Blick in die Ausstellung

Stiftung Situation Kunst + Museum unter Tage

Die Stiftung Situation Kunst wurde am 25. April 2005 gegründet. Im Laufe des Jahres 2005 hat sie ein Erweiterungsgebäude zum bestehenden Projekt Situation Kunst errichtet, das am 6. September 2006 der Öffentlichkeit als Teil der Kunstsammlungen der Ruhr-Universität Bochum zugänglich gemacht wurde. Die als Dauerausstellung angelegte Präsentation wurde von Alexander und Silke von Berswordt-Wallrabe konzipiert und realisiert, basierend auf Stiftungen aus ihrer Privatsammlung und Schenkungen von Künstlern wie François Morellet und Lee Ufan sowie dem Archivio Gianni Colombo. Die Erweiterungsmaßnahme wurde durch zahlreiche Zustiftungen und Spenden von Privatpersonen und Firmen aus dem In- und Ausland ermöglicht; sie wurde ohne jeglichen Einsatz öffentlicher Mittel verwirklicht.

Das Museum unter Tage (MuT) wurde im November 2015 eröffnet und landschaftsschonend unter der Erde auf der Hauptachse des Schlosspark Haus Weitmar erbaut. Es erfüllt zwei wesentliche Funktionen: Ein Drittel (ca. 500 qm) der Ausstellungsfläche wird für Wechselausstellungen genutzt, die in Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Instituten der RUB entwickelt und wenn möglich von hier aus bundes- bis europaweit in andere Museen auf Tournee geschickt werden. Zwei Drittel (ca. 1.000 qm) der Ausstellungsräume dienen dazu, dauerhaft Teile des Konvolutes Weltsichten zu präsentieren. Dieses umfasst etwa 350 Werke der Landschaftskunst seit dem 15. Jahrhundert, vom klassischen Ölgemälde bis zur raumfüllenden Video-Sound-Installation. In einer von Bochum ausgehenden Ausstellungsreihe wurde dieses Konvolut bereits in mehreren deutschen und internationalen Museen (darunter Kiel, Wiesbaden, Chemnitz, Cottbus, Maastricht) gezeigt.

DEEDS WORLD - Courtesy of Mueum unter Tage - Erich Reusch Zyan 2014 - grenzenlos 2020

Erich Reusch, Zyan (elektrostatische Aufladung), 2014,
elektrostatisches Objekt, Acrylfarbe, Ø 50 cm, Höhe 12 cm

Bei Interesse und Nachfragen zu Werken wenden Sie sich an die Galerie kajetan Berlin:

kajetan Berlin | Raum für Kunst
Gneisenaustraße 33 (Fabrikgebäude, 1. Hof)
10961 Berlin-Kreuzberg
Tel. +49 (0)176 57 79 26 51
info@kajetan.berlin
Mittwoch – Freitag 14:00 – 19:00 Uhr , Samstag, 12:00 – 16:00 Uhr und nach Vereinbarung

 

+++ KEEP IN MIND > stay safe wear masks +++

Ausstellung: Erich Reusch: grenzenlos. Werke 1951-2019

6. Mai 2020 – 23. August 2020

Museum unter Tage
Situation Kunst (für Max Imdahl)
Nevelstraße 29c (im Parkgelände von Haus Weitmar)
44795 Bochum
+49 (0)234 3228523

Öffnungszeiten: Mi-Fr: 14:00 – 18:00 Uhr, Sa+So: 12:00 – 18:00 Uhr

 

This post is also available in: English

2 replies on “Erich Reusch | grenzenlos. Werke 1951-2019 | Stiftung Situation Kunst | Museum unter Tage Bochum | 06.05.-23.08.2020

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.