DISAPPEARING BERLIN | Si Di Kubi 2.0 | Clärchens Ballhaus – Spiegelsaal | 31.01.2020

Clärchen’s Ballhaus has been closed since the beginning of January. Now the doors will open once again to the public on 31.01.2020 from 20 o’clock, before the legendary dance hall gets turned into a private event location in the months to come. Within the framework of DISAPPEARING BERLIN, an alternative vision will be created in the Ballhaus’ mirror hall, in which Clärchen’s Ballhaus will be preserved as a place for dance, art and music for everyone.

For over a year, DISAPPEARING BERLIN has been staging unique Berlin architecture and unique urban spaces that are about to be demolished, privatised or converted, after having shaped the cityscape and cultural life for decades. With performances, dance and concerts DISAPPEARING BERLIN explores the city and the potential of its endangered, forgotten and newly emerging spaces. In a playful approach to art, new perspectives on a change, that cannot be stopped, but shaped, are developed.

. In its famous mirror hall (Spiegelsaal), Mohamed Bourouissa, together with a group of artists, unfolds a narrative between Beirut and Berlin, two cities that are as different as they are connected. In live music, films and photographs, fragments of these two cities overlap to form a poem about disappearance and displacement, change and freedom – and about the potential of art and shared artistic vision as driving forces in the development of these cities. Between the artists, a multifaceted collage of their artistic practice, their languages and identities emerges, reflecting in the story of Clärchens Ballhaus.

With screenings by Mohamed Bourouissa and 2038; live music by Tony Elieh, Youmna Saba and Sina XX; music by Dorine Potel and a DJ/VJ set by Paulina Greta, Sina XX and Mohamed Bourouissa

DISAPPEARING BERLIN Si Di Kubi 2.0 with Mohamed Bourouissa, Tony Elieh, Paulina Greta, Dorine Potel, Youmna Saba, Sina XX and 2038

WHERE? Clärchens Ballhaus / Spiegelsaal, Auguststraße 24, 10117 Berlin-Mitte

WHEN? Friday, 31st January 2020, 8 pm until midnight, free entry


This information was brought to us by the Schinkel Pavilion.

This post is also available in: Deutsch

One reply on “DISAPPEARING BERLIN | Si Di Kubi 2.0 | Clärchens Ballhaus – Spiegelsaal | 31.01.2020

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

DISAPPEARING BERLIN | Si Di Kubi 2.0 | Clärchens Ballhaus – Spiegelsaal | 31.01.2020

Seit Anfang Januar ist Clärchens Ballhaus geschlossen. Nun öffnen sich die Türen am 31.01.2020 ab 20 Uhr noch einmal für die Öffentlichkeit, bevor das legendäre Tanzlokal in den kommenden Monaten zur Eventlocation für private Veranstaltungen wird. Im Rahmen von DISAPPEARING BERLIN wird im Spiegelsaal des Ballhauses eine alternative Vision entworfen, in der Clärchens Ballhaus als Ort für Tanz, Kunst und Musik für Alle erhalten bleibt.

DISAPPEARING BERLIN inszeniert über ein Jahr lang einzigartige Berliner Architekturen und besondere urbane Räume, denen Abriss, Privatisierung oder Umnutzung bevorstehen, nachdem sie das Stadtbild und kulturelle Leben über Jahrzehnte prägten. Mit Performances, Tanz und Konzerten erkundet DISAPPEARING BERLIN die Stadt und das Potential ihrer gefährdeten, vergessenen und neu entstehenden Räume. Im spielerischen Umgang mit der Kunst entwickeln sich so neue Perspektiven auf einen Wandel, der sich nicht stoppen, wohl aber mit gestalten lässt.

Im Spiegelsaal entfaltet Mohammed Bourouissa gemeinsam mit befreundeten Künstlerinnen eine Erzählung zwischen Beirut und Berlin, zwei Städten, die so unterschiedlich wie miteinander verbunden sind. In Live-Musik, Filmen und Fotografien überlagern sich Fragmente dieser beiden Städte zu einem Gedicht über Verschwinden und Verdrängung, Veränderung und Freiheit – und über das Potential von Kunst und gemeinsamer künstlerischer Vision als treibende Kraft in der Entwicklung dieser Städte. Zwischen den Künstler*innen entsteht eine facettenreiche Collage ihres künstlerischen Schaffens, ihrer Sprachen und Identitäten, die in der Geschichte von Clärchens Ballhaus zusammenfindet.

Mit Filmen von Mohamed Bourouissa und 2038; Live Musik von Tony Elieh, Youmna Saba und Sina XX; Musik von Dorine Potel und einem DJ/VJ-Set von Paulina Greta, Sina XX und Mohamed Bourouissa

DISAPPEARING BERLIN 
Si Di Kubi 2.0

with Mohamed Bourouissa, Tony Elieh, Paulina Greta, Dorine Potel, Youmna Saba, Sina XX and 2038

WO? Clärchens Ballhaus / Spiegelsaal, Auguststraße 24, 10117 Berlin-Mitte

WANN? Freitag, 31. Januar 2020, 20 Uhr bis Mitternacht, Eintritt frei


Diese Informationen wurden uns durch den Schinkel Pavillon zur Verfügung gestellt.

This post is also available in: English

One reply on “DISAPPEARING BERLIN | Si Di Kubi 2.0 | Clärchens Ballhaus – Spiegelsaal | 31.01.2020

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.