DEEP WEB | Kraftwerk Berlin | Performances 25.07. + 26.07.2019

Until 23 August 2019, DEEP WEB will be a monumental, immersive audiovisual installation to be experienced at Kraftwerk Berlin. In the collaboration of light artist Christopher Bauder and musician and composer Robert Henke, 175 spheres, illuminated by colour-intensive lasers, move in synchronous choreography to form a multi-channel composition. The result is a visually impressive analogy (30 x 20 x 10 m) to digital networks with their nodes and endless connections.   Performances with both artists will take place on Thursday, 25 July and Friday, 26 July 2019. The performances will take place in real time. None is the same as the other.

ART-at-Berlin---DEEP-WEB_Christopher-Bauder_Robert-Henke_Photo-Ralph-Larmann-1

DEEP WEB, Christopher Bauder + Robert Henke, Foto Ralph Larmann

Embedded in the spectacular industrial architecture of the KRAFTWERK BERLIN, DEEP WEB creates a unique spatial experience: visitors are immersed in a gigantic amorphous sculpture of animated light lines and multidimensional sounds – the luminous patterns of early digital communication become a fascinating sensory experience.

Last year, Christopher Bauder already impressed visitors with his installation “Skalar” and showed that such an installation can bring everyone together: From Berlin club kids to art-loving Berlin visitors to families with children (there are also extra family tickets).

An exclusive pleasure: until now DEEP WEB has only twice been open to the public for a short time. The premiere at the KRAFTWERK BERLIN as part of the CTM Festival 2016 quickly became a highlight and insider tip among the visitors. In December of the same year DEEP WEB inspired the visitors of the Fête des Lumières in Lyon. In the summer of 2019, this elaborate work will return to its place of origin: for six weeks it will be accessible to a wider audience for the first time.

ART-at-Berlin---DEEP-WEB_Christopher-Bauder_Robert-Henke_Photo-Ralph-Larmann 5

DEEP WEB, Christopher Bauder + Robert Henke, Foto Ralph Larmann

During the exhibition period (12.07.- 23.08.2019) DEEP WEB will be available daily as an installation. In addition, a special highlight will be extended live performances with Christopher Bauder and Robert Henke, in which the two artists will exploit the full potential of the installation to explore new dimensions of DEEP WEB.

But DEEP WEB in the truest sense of the word cannot be grasped: The space created by the installation consists only of light – and can still be experienced in real terms. The 175 motorised spheres combine with 12 high-performance laser systems to form an architectural superstructure 30 metres long, 20 metres wide and 10 metres high. The light lines and reflection points create a visually impressive analogy to digital networks with their nodes and endless connections. The spheres move in synchronous choreography to the multi-channel composition by Robert Henke, whereby they are illuminated by colour-intensive lasers.

The paths of the illuminated spheres draw architectural light sculptures and kinetic arrangements into the sweeping darkness of the KRAFTWERK BERLIN: a structure is created in constant change, networks form anew and dissolve again. DEEP WEB remains fleeting and always in motion, a vision that takes on real form for brief moments.

The existence of DEEP WEB is the result of many years of research and artistic experimentation by two artists with their own vision and unmistakable passion for sound and light. In addition, innovative technology companies working in these fields were involved in the realisation of Vision DEEP WEB: The Berlin-based company LaserAnimation SOLLINGER, which specializes in high-end lasers, provided the technical expertise and helped implement the special, space-filling laser concept. The motor winch system and the control software were developed by the WHITEvoid design studio with support from KINETIC LIGHTS.

ART-at-Berlin---DEEP-WEB_Christopher-Bauder_Robert-Henke_Photo-Ralph-Larmann-4

DEEP WEB, Christopher Bauder + Robert Henke, Foto Ralph Larmann

CHRISTOPHER BAUDER

The artist and designer Christopher Bauder combines in his work the fields of light and installation art, media design and scenography. He concentrates on the reciprocal translation of digital spaces into tangible objects and tangible spatial stagings.

Space, object, sound, light and interaction are key elements of his work. In 2004 he founded the multidisciplinary art and design studio WHITEvoid, which specializes in interactive media design, interior design and electronic engineering.

ART-at-Berlin---DEEP-WEB---Artist-Christopher-Bauder

Christopher Bauder, Courtesy the artist

Bauer’s installations and performances have already been shown at events and in exhibition spaces worldwide, including the Centre Pompidou Paris, MUTEK Montreal, the Jewish Museum Berlin, the Chinese National Opera in Beijing, and the National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts. He received international attention for his monumental light art installation “Lichtgrenze”, which he realized together with his brother Marc in 2014 on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall. In February 2018, almost 50,000 visitors saw his monumental installation SKALAR at the KRAFTWERK BERLIN.

ROBERT HENKE

In addition to his numerous publications under the name Monolake, Robert Henke is known for music, audiovisual installations and performances, which he has been presenting under his own name since the early 1990s. A strong background in technology and engineering and his fascination for the beauty of technical objects led Henke to make the development of his own instruments and algorithms an integral part of his creative work.

Henke is co-developer of the music software Ableton Live, which since its invention in 1999 has become a standard tool for electronic music production and has revolutionized the practice of live performance. Henke’s love of music and programming is a constant source of new challenges.

ART-at-Berlin---DEEP-WEB---Artist-Robert-Henke

Robert Henke, Courtesy the artist

His installations and performances have been shown at the Tate Modern London, the Centre Pompidou Paris, PS-1 New York, MUDAM Luxembourg, MAK Vienna, the Art Gallery of New South Wales in Australia, KW Institute for Contemporary Art Berlin and at countless festivals.

WHERE? KRAFTWERK BERLIN, Köpenicker Straße 70, 10179 Berlin-Mitte

WHEN? 12 July to 23 August 2019 (Installation)

PERFORMANCES:

DEEP WEB | LIVE Performance | Thursday, 25 July 2019 | 7:00 + 9:30 p.m.

DEEP WEB | LIVE Performance | Friday, 26 July 2019 | 8:00 + 10:30 p.m.

.

This post is also available in: Deutsch

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

DEEP WEB | Kraftwerk Berlin | Performances 25.07. + 26.07.2019

Bis zum 23. August 2019 ist mit DEEP WEB im Kraftwerk Berlin eine monumentale, immersive audiovisuelle Installation zu erleben. In der Kollaboration von Lichtkünstler Christopher Bauder und Musiker und Komponist Robert Henke bewegen sich 175 Kugeln, von farbintensiven Lasern angestrahlt, in synchroner Choreographie zu einer mehrkanaligen Komposition. So entsteht eine visuell beeindruckende Analogie (30 x 20 x 10 m) zu digitalen Netzwerken mit ihren Knotenpunkten und endlosen Verbindungen.

Performances mit beiden Künstlern finden am Donnerstag, 25. Juli und Freitag, 26. Juli 2019 statt. Die Performances finden in Echtzeit statt. Keine gleicht somit der anderen.

ART-at-Berlin---DEEP-WEB_Christopher-Bauder_Robert-Henke_Photo-Ralph-Larmann-1

DEEP WEB, Christopher Bauder + Robert Henke, Foto Ralph Larmann

Eingebettet in die spektakuläre Industriearchitektur des KRAFTWERK BERLIN erschafft DEEP WEB ein einzigartiges räumliches Erlebnis: Die Besucher tauchen ein in eine gigantische amorphe Skulptur aus animierten Lichtlinien und multidimensionalen Klängen — Die leuchtenden Muster der frühen digitalen Kommunikation werden zur faszinierenden Sinneserfahrung.

Im vergangenen Jahr hat Christopher Bauder bereits mit seiner Installation „Skalar“ die Besucher begeistert und gezeigt, dass eine solche Installation alle zusammenbringen kann: Von Berliner Clubkids über kunstaffine Berlin-Besucher bis hin zu Familien mit Kindern (es gibt auch extra Familien-Tickets).

Ein exklusiver Genuss: Bisher war DEEP WEB erst zwei Mal für kurze Zeit öffentlich zugänglich. Die Uraufführung im KRAFTWERK BERLIN im Rahmen des CTM Festivals 2016 avancierte schnell zum Highlight und Geheimtipp unter den Besuchern. Im Dezember des gleichen Jahres begeisterte DEEP WEB die Besucher der Fête des Lumières in Lyon. Im Sommer 2019 kehrt dieses aufwendige Werk nun an seinen Entstehungsort zurück: Sechs Wochen lang wird es erstmals einem breiteren Publikum zugänglich sein.

ART-at-Berlin---DEEP-WEB_Christopher-Bauder_Robert-Henke_Photo-Ralph-Larmann 5

DEEP WEB, Christopher Bauder + Robert Henke, Foto Ralph Larmann

Während der Ausstellungszeit (12.07.- 23.08.2019) wird DEEP WEB täglich als Installation zu erleben sein. Darüber hinaus gibt es als besonderes Highlight erweiterte Live-Performances mit Christopher Bauder und Robert Henke, in denen die beiden Künstler das volle Potential der Installation ausschöpfen werden, um neue Dimensionen von DEEP WEB zu erkunden.

Dabei bleibt DEEP WEB im wahrsten Sinne nicht zu fassen: Der Raum, den die Installation erschafft, besteht nur aus Licht – und ist dennoch reell erfahrbar. Die 175 motorisierten Kugeln verbinden sich mit 12 Hochleistungslasersystemen zu einer architektonischen Super-Struktur mit 30 Metern Länge, 20 Metern Breite und 10 Metern Höhe. Durch die Lichtlinien und Reflexionspunkte entsteht so eine visuell beeindruckende Analogie zu digitalen Netzwerken mit ihren Knotenpunkten und endlosen Verbindungen. Die Kugeln bewegen sich in synchroner Choreographie zu der mehrkanaligen Komposition von Robert Henke, wobei sie von farbintensiven Lasern angestrahlt werden.

Die Bahnen der erleuchteten Kugeln zeichnen architektonische Lichtskulpturen und kinetische Arrangements in die ausladende Dunkelheit des KRAFTWERK BERLIN: Es entsteht eine Struktur in ständigem Wandel, Netzwerke formen sich neu und lösen sich wieder auf. DEEP WEB bleibt flüchtig und immer in Bewegung, eine Vision, die für kurze Momente reale Form annimmt.

Die Existenz von DEEP WEB ist das Ergebnis langjähriger Forschung und des künstlerischen Experimentierens zweier Künstler mit eigenständiger Vision und unverkennbarer Leidenschaft für Sound und Licht. Darüber hinaus waren innovative Technologie-Firmen, die in diesen Feldern arbeiten, an der Realisierung der Vision DEEP WEB beteiligt: Das auf High-End-Laser spezialisierte Berliner Unternehmen LaserAnimation SOLLINGER lieferte die technische Expertise und half bei der Umsetzung des speziellen und raumgreifenden Laserkonzepts. Das Motorwindensystem und die Steuerungssoftware wurde vom Design Studio WHITEvoid mit Unterstützung von KINETIC LIGHTS entwickelt.

ART-at-Berlin---DEEP-WEB_Christopher-Bauder_Robert-Henke_Photo-Ralph-Larmann-4

DEEP WEB, Christopher Bauder + Robert Henke, Foto Ralph Larmann

CHRISTOPHER BAUDER

Der Künstler und Designer Christopher Bauder verbindet in seiner Arbeit die Felder Licht- und Installationskunst, Mediendesign und Szenografie. Dabei konzentriert er sich auf die wechselseitige Übersetzung von digitalen Räumen in greifbare Objekte und erlebbare Rauminszenierungen.

Raum, Objekt, Sound, Licht und Interaktion sind Schlüsselelemente seiner Arbeit. 2004 gründete er das multidisziplinäre Kunst- und Designstudio WHITEvoid, das sich auf interaktive Mediengestaltung, Innenarchitektur und elektronische Ingenieurskunst spezialisiert hat.

ART-at-Berlin---DEEP-WEB---Artist-Christopher-Bauder

Christopher Bauder, Courtesy the artist

Bauders Installationen und Performances wurden bereits auf Veranstaltungen und in Ausstellungsräumen weltweit gezeigt, darunter das Centre Pompidou Paris, MUTEK Montreal, das Jüdische Museum Berlin, die chinesische Nationaloper in Beijing und das National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts. Internationale Aufmerksamkeit erhielt er für seine monumentale Lichtkunstinstallation „Lichtgrenze“, die er 2014 anlässlich des 25. Jahrestags des Falls der Berliner Mauer zusammen mit seinem Bruder Marc realisierte. Im Februar 2018 sahen fast 50.000 Besucher seine monumentale Installation SKALAR im KRAFTWERK BERLIN.

ROBERT HENKE

Neben seinen zahlreichen Veröffentlichungen unter dem Namen Monolake ist Robert Henke für Musik, audiovisuelle Installationen und Performances bekannt, die er seit den frühen 1990ern unter seinem eigenen Namen präsentiert. Ein ausgeprägter Hintergrund in Technologie und Technik und seine Faszination für die Schönheit technischer Objekte führte Henke dazu, die Entwicklung eigener Instrumente und Algorithmen zu einem integralen Bestandteil seines kreativen Schaffens zu machen.

Henke ist Mitentwickler der Musiksoftware Ableton Live, die seit ihrer Erfindung 1999 zu einem Standardwerkzeug der elektronischen Musikproduktion geworden ist und die Praxis der Liveperformance revolutioniert hat. Seine Liebe zu Musik und dem Programmieren treibt Henke zu stets neuen Herausforderungen.

ART-at-Berlin---DEEP-WEB---Artist-Robert-Henke

Robert Henke, Courtesy the artist

Seine Installationen und Performances waren in der Tate Modern London, dem Centre Pompidou Paris, PS-1 New York, MUDAM Luxemburg, MAK Wien, der Art Gallery of New South Wales in Australien, KW Institute for Contemporary Art Berlin und auf unzähligen Festivals zu sehen.

WO? KRAFTWERK BERLIN, Köpenicker Straße 70, 10179 Berlin-Mitte

WANN? 12. Juli bis 23. August 2019 (Installation)

PERFORMANCES:

DEEP WEB | LIVE Performance | Donnerstag, 25. Juli 2019 | 19:00 + 21:30 Uhr

DEEP WEB | LIVE Performance | Freitag, 26. Juli 2019 | 20:00 + 22:30 Uhr


This post is also available in: English

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.